DeFi Design Tips vol. 9

Jon Crabb
4 min readSep 30, 2022

An ongoing series in which I record UX/UI improvements I have noticed in DeFi. This is my own competitive analysis, as I collect things I find interesting, useful, or delightful. As a DeFi designer myself, I want a bunch of ideas to test.

Read the others here: Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3, Vol. 4, Vol. 5, Vol.6, Vol.7, Vol. 8

Obligatory image created in DallE2: a computer from the 90s

1. Make the landing page the app page

ref. Alchemix

Just go to Alchemix.fi and you’re in. There’s even an intro video! This is sped up a bit to save on file size. Gifs are heavy.

A recent Twitter conversation with Georgia Rakusen (cool web3 user researcher — check her out) reminded me that a lot of newish DeFi users don’t understand that the landing page and the app are two different things.

I had similar conversations with new employees at Advanced Blockchain, when discussing briefs. For some reason, it’s become standard that there’s the website, which tells you about the project; and the actual app, which you get to by clicking the “launch app” button. A lot of times, these even have different design systems, with totally different colors, fonts, border radius etc. It means that when designing for a project you have to be really clear what you’re referring to when you say you’re “working on the website”…

--

--