An Easy Way To Save Hundreds Of Dollars

Just Copy and Paste in your life.

Kasturi
5 min readAug 13, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

The marriage teaches you a hell lot of good things!

When I was single and earning and managing all the things in my life by my own, I was going with the flow.

I wanted to quit my first job without having any other job in hand, I did.

I wanted to start a business with my savings, I did.

I wanted to travel with my girl-friends, I did.

I wanted to live alone in a 1 bhk apartment, I did.

But all these needed money at the end of the day. And we all know that unless and until you have multiple sources of revenue incomes, your money is limited.

When there are limitations, how do you overcome?

I apply mind hack!

Yes, it has worked and will definitely work for you.

I was not even aware that, I myself can hack my mind and make it more constructive and productive that could build wealth.

Coming back to the money thing, so if your desires > present income flow, you either increase your earning potential or increase your saving potential.

I applied the second one.

Since the day, I’ve got married, and when I had to decide things together and I could see that I can’t take financial decisions alone, I had to tweak my thought process so as to bring a balance.

When I was able to maintain the balance through combined decisions and combined goals along with my partner, I figured out my lucky number that helped us to save more and thus meet our goals on time.

This lucky number is not something new.

It’s a part of our daily lives, but we never acknowledge and attribute this number to be lucky.

So how do you define any lucky number in your life? Maybe your birth date could be lucky for you, or maybe an eventful date could be lucky for you.

For me, this number, which made me save hundreds of my dollars is the lucky number for me. Because at the end of the day, I think about my goals, and all the different goals including travel experiences need money to accomplish and money needs saving.

I’m not branding this number or asking you in exchange for anything. I just want to let you know that how this number became lucky for me, and how you can copy paste this number in your life and save hundreds of dollars as I did.

What’s this Lucky Number?

👉🏽1️⃣2️⃣ (Twelve)

How Can This Number 1️⃣ 2️⃣ Save Your Hundreds Of Dollars?

At times when I have to take any financial decision: To buy, To save, To earn, To invest, I multiply the primitive by 1️⃣ 2️⃣ and foresee the outcome. This helps me better in deciding either to proceed or to stop at the moment.

Let me show you step by step thought process:

1. Figure out your basic minimum monthly fixed bills/ subscriptions

Example (Proportion of basic bills out of fixed income)

Assumptions:

  • Monthly Limited Income = $Z.
  • Yearly Limited Income = $12Z = (Z*1️⃣ 2️⃣)

1) Home Rent (33%)

2) Maid’s Salary (2.5%)

3) Cook’s Salary (5%)

4) Furniture’s Rent (3.3%)

5) Phone Bills (2.5%)

6) Internet Bill (3.3%)

7) TV connection Bill (0.8%)

8) Software Subscriptions (3.3%)

9) Co-working space Rent (17%)

  • Monthly Fixed Bills = 0.7Z
  • Yearly Fixed Bills = 8.4Z = (0.7Z*1️⃣ 2️⃣)

2. Decide your top three annual goals that need money

Example:

  1. Travel (#Buy) ( will need +1.2Z [10%])
  2. Start a business that can start making passive revenue by next year (#Investment) (will need +1.2Z [10%])
  3. Decorate Home at my best ( #Buy) (will need +0.6Z [5%]) (COOK)

So, you need additional 25% of money = 3Z = Thrice of your monthly income in extra amount to meet such goals.

Now, to meet such goals with your limited income flow, you have two options:

a) Increase your earnings

b) Increase your savings

While a) may not be in your hand immediately, but b) is definitely under your control. Now, let’s see how can you meet these goals by saving money utilizing this lucky number “1️⃣ 2️⃣”.

When I look over 9 of these basic bills categories, I see anyone can hack and save on 3 of the bills.

Let’s see how:

Multiple Your Basic Bills by 1️⃣ 2️⃣

Cook’s Salary by 1️⃣ 2️⃣

Present expense: 0.05Z [Monthly]

Multiply by “1️⃣ 2️⃣

0.05Z * 12= 0.6Z [Yearly]

If you can cook yourself and can save this 5%, you can decorate your home at best.

Co-Working Space Rent by 1️⃣ 2️⃣

Present expense: 0.33Z [Monthly]

Multiply by “1️⃣ 2️⃣

0.17Z * 12= 2.04Z [Yearly]

If you can work from home and you can save this 17% of your income.

Software Subscriptions by 1️⃣ 2️⃣

Present expense: 0.17Z [Monthly]

Multiply by “1️⃣ 2️⃣

0.033Z * 12= 0.39Z [Yearly]

If you can publish an e-book that can make passive revenue worth of 0.3Z monthly, you will be able to save 3.3% of your income.

0.6Z + 2.04Z + 0.39Z = 3.03Z = 25% OF Your Yearly Income = 25% (The Additional amount to meet your goals)

What made it happen?

👉🏽1️⃣ 2️⃣

💬 Final Note

Multiply every decision in your life by 1️⃣ 2️⃣

1️⃣ 2️⃣ denotes the yearly number.

1️⃣ 2️⃣ denotes how can you plan for a year.

1️⃣ 2️⃣denotes how can you foresee your investments and savings.

1️⃣ 2️⃣ co-relates your monthly expenses with yearly investments.

Whenever you have to buy anything, multiply by 1️⃣ 2️⃣ and see if it’s worth to spend for a year.

Whenever you have to save, multiply your present expense by 1️⃣ 2️⃣ and see where can you minimize.

Whenever you have to invest, multiply your principal amount by 1️⃣ 2️⃣ and see if it can return an additional 1️⃣ 2️⃣% ROI.

Whenever you find any new work, multiply the proposed income by 1️⃣ 2️⃣ and see if it’s worth of your time investment.

Multiply everything by 1️⃣ 2️⃣and see how wisely you can save hundreds of dollars.

I’ve acknowledged this to be lucky for me.

How about you adopting and testing this in your life? If you do, do it for

1️⃣ 2️⃣ different situations. And, let me know if it works.

--

--

Kasturi

Display Advertising @Amazon | Ex-entrepreneur | Digital Marketer