How Much I Spend on Coffee per Month?

Sidqi Hatake
3 min readMar 6, 2024

--

How much will I spend on coffee per month?

At one point in my life, I should reflect on how coffee has influenced my monthly spending.

Also, among a billion coffee drinkers who always prioritize coffee taste over caffeine intake, how should I spend money on my own coffee beans for satisfaction and curiosity?

So this is me and my coffee beans have been bonding recently.

Hope it will still be proven strong and passionate.

Specialty Coffee Beans, source : 43 Factory Coffee
Specialty Coffee Beans, source : 43 Factory Coffee

Average income in Indonesia

I live in Yogyakarta. Even though I’m not exactly an average worker at the moment, it’s easy to describe how I make a salary that way.

In Indonesia, an ordinary worker would make a maximum 5.1 million Indonesia rupiah salary per month. But especially in Yogyakarta’s economic perspective, an ordinary worker can only make about 2 to 3 million Indonesian rupiah salary per month.

From this salary perspective, how often will I buy coffee for good?

Average coffee cup per day

Indonesian Coffee Farmers, source Root Capital
Indonesian Coffee Farmers, source Root Capital

In America, people would drink 3 cups per day. But, in a country that has more coffee culture than usual, it would be more cups per day. For example, Finnish people can drink 7 cups of coffee per day as a usual intake.

For me, let’s say I have 3 to 4 cups of joe per day. If a cup of coffee is about 10 to 12 grams, it would be 40 to 50 grams of coffee beans per day.

Coffee bean’s price per bag

For an individual, I usually buy 200 grams of coffee beans per bag. So, would I buy up to 7 bags per month from a salary perspective to stay caffeinated? I would say, it’s totally no!

Again…
Internationally, high quality specialty coffee beans can cost $10 to $30 per pound. It’s about $5 per 250 grams of coffee bean.

If I bought 5 bags of 200 grams of coffee beans, I would spend like $20 a month. It’s about 25% of my monthly salary in Yogyakarta.

How much money will I spend on coffee per month?

Espresso Shot, source : Coffee Geek
Espresso Shot, source : Coffee Geek

If you are an Indonesian, you can have access to coffee beans directly from farmers. It is presumably at a cheap price compared to internationally. You would only pay coffee beans after producing prices plus farmers’ salaries.

International coffee producers would have to transport coffee from Indonesia to their countries. That’s why their prices would be more pricey.

More than that, as an Indonesian, high quality coffee from a skillful roaster master does not usually have a certain popularity that can make their product expensive.

So, I only spend about 10% of my salary for coffee beans as an average worker in Yogyakarta.

For high quality speciality with an exceptional taste coffee beans that I can access, it’s worth it!

--

--

Sidqi Hatake

Feeling very lucky after tasting coffee. So, I am gonna write about it!