All my sketchnotes from Webcon 2019

Lindsey Markel
2 min readApr 8, 2019

--

The 20th annual (!) University of Illinois Webcon was last week, and as always, it was an invigorating few days, and I left feeling reconnected to my community — both the “Silicon Prairie” one and the broader one that cares about creating excellent digital experiences.

“But Lindsey, what’s the point of writing for the web? PEoPle dOn’T rEAd oNLiNe!”

Along with my colleagues Melinda Miller and Allison Ofisher, I co-led a workshop on how to “redesign” your site with great content! You can see our slides and resources here. (Yes, we committed hard to the island theme and that is worthy of respect.)

Sketchnotes, sessions, and speakers:

Lauren Liss on The Benefits of Iterative Failure
A conversation between (former Pixonaut!) Safiya Umoja Noble, Ph.D. and Jack Brighton
How collaborative discovery at Stanford Summer influenced the project, by Christine Coughlan
Friday’s powerful keynote by Safiya Umoja Noble, Ph.D.

*Ariel voice* I want mooooore (sketchnotes)

I’ve previously posted sketchnotes from Confab 2018.

Sometimes people are like “Whoa how do you do that?” (and oftentimes design people are like “Uh what’s the big deal”) and the basic answer is that I write longhand with pen and paper every day all the time.

--

--

Lindsey Markel

Senior content strategist at Pixo and lifelong Midwestern ham.