Celebrate Other People’s Successes

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readFeb 1, 2018

In yesterday’s blog post, I talked about what true success really is.

Today, I would like to talk about celebrating other people’s successes.

As I said it yesterday, people got really angry at singer Alessia Cara for winning a Grammy over the other nominees.

My only question to them is “Why?”

Why be angry when someone succeeds and makes their dreams come true?

I understand that maybe they thought that their favorites deserved to win but like I previously said it, not everyone is going to walk out with a trophy in hand. And that’s ok!

I understand that you’re upset but don’t blame Alessia Cara! She equally deserved to win because just like the other nominees, she is a dreamer who has been working really hard to make her dreams come true.

She worked hard to get the rewards that she’s getting and she should be able to enjoy it!

I think that the problem with our society is that we cannot stand seeing other people win…

And that to me is sad.

We should do the complete opposite and instead be happy for people who succeed and we should celebrate their win because ultimately we are all on the same boat. We are all trying to make our dreams come true so if one of us succeeds, to me it’s like we all succeed or at least it shows that we can all succeed.

When someone succeeds and makes their dreams come true, to me, it’s another sign that it is possible.

To me it shows that I shouldn’t give up and that I should keep on working hard on what I love to do because one day, I’ll see the fruits of my labor.

That is why I cannot help but respect and applaud anyone who succeeds whether it be small successes or big successes.

We should let those who succeed inspire us. Let their journey inspire you to keep on going and to never give up.

We might think that success only happens to a few “lucky” people but that’s not true. It can happen to all of us!

Sure, it won’t happen the same way as this person or that person and maybe it’ll be harder than this person or that person but we can all succeed in what we’re set on doing.

And remember, success is different for each individual and most importantly it comes from within. So if you are proud of yourself and what you do and if you feel successful then that means that you probably are. You don’t need people to validate your success or reward you. You should reward yourself and celebrate your own success!

Let me know what you thought about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the 👏 button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly. And subscribing to my newsletter could be quite practical!

Thank you for stopping by, hope you’ve had a nice stay! ❤︎

MediumTwitter FacebookInstagramYoutube

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--

Lalaina Rackson

Empowering a generation to live authentically #WeTheAuthenticGeneration — Email me: LalainaRackson@gmail.com