Photo by rawpixel.com

Even Successful People Don’t Know What They’re Doing

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readJan 28, 2018

Do you ever look at someone and think “Man, this bloke knows what he is doing! Just look at him! He’s such a champ!” ?

Maybe that man knows what he is doing but he can also be completely clueless. And the funny part is that he still manages to make you think that he knows what he’s doing.

The truth is, nobody really knows what they’re doing.

Even the most organized and prepared person doesn’t know what they’re actually doing.

I know that for a fact because I might actually be that person.

I like planning things, I like having a clear vision of what needs to happen and what needs to be done. I’m just a huge perfectionist.

But even if I know what I need to do or what I want to do, I have to admit that I still have no clue about what I actually am doing.

I’ve come to that realization thanks to my new passion which is drawing.

Let me tell you, when it comes to drawing, I have absolutely no idea what the heck I’m doing. None whatsoever!

Just the other day, I actually cried in front of my drawing because I didn’t know what the heck I was doing…

I’m a self-taught so I don’t know all the techniques and I also don’t have all the proper utensils, so “clueless” is an understatement when it comes to describing me when I’m drawing.

I don’t know.

I simply don’t know what the heck I’m doing!

And the craziest part is that I AM STILL DOING IT!

Why do I do that to myself?

Why do I let myself cry in front of my unfinished drawing?

Am I mental or something?

The truth is that I actually love it! I know, I am mental indeed!

But do you want to know the secret about every successful person that you’ve ever heard of? They also don’t have a clue what they’re doing but they still do it and that, ladies and gentlemen, is why they are successful.

Nobody actually knows what they’re doing!

The only difference between someone unsuccessful who doesn’t know what they’re doing and someone successful who doesn’t know what they’re doing is that the successful person knows that they are clueless but they still choose to try and keep on going whereas other people would most likely give up because they don’t know what they’re doing.

Being successful is not about knowing everything and being perfect. It’s about knowing that you don’t know anyway but you’re still willing to try even if you suck at it at first or even if you don’t know where it’ll take you.

Being successful is about successfully not giving up when you clearly know that you don’t have a clue about what you’re actually doing.

Being successful is about doing what you love even if you suck at it at first, even if you make mistakes, even if you’re not the best and even if nobody likes or even notices your work.

Being successful is not about having your life together because let’s be honest, who has their life together? We’re all a mess here!

So don’t feel bad if you don’t know what you’re doing with your life because nobody actually does.

We’re all simply living our lives but none of us actually knows what the heck we’re doing because there’s no guide book or instructions, you just have to do/you just have to live and that’s it.

So keep on living because that’s exactly what you’re supposed to do!

Let me know what you thought about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the 👏 button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly. And subscribing to my newsletter could be quite practical!

Thank you for stopping by, hope you’ve had a nice stay! ❤︎

MediumTwitter FacebookInstagramYoutube

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--