Photo by Alex Holyoake

Nobody Is Greater Than You But You’re Also Not Greater Than Everybody Else

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readMar 24, 2018

I’ve recently caught up with America’s Next Top Model and in the most recent episode, they were down to the top 5.

In the last episode, one of the girls, Gina, really started to get on my nerve. She thought that she was better than everybody else and she thought that she deserved it more than anybody else.

Her attitude made me realize something.

Yes, it is true that nobody can ever be greater than you.

But be careful not to take this sentence the wrong way.

“Nobody is greater than you” means that nobody can do you better than you’re doing you.

Because there is only one you and only you can do you and think like you and be you etc…

Nobody is greater than you because there is only one you in your body who is currently living your life. And you’re the greatest you ever because you’re the only one you.

But be careful not to mistake the sentence “nobody is greater than you” to “I’m greater than everybody else” because that is plain cockiness and it’s also not true.

You’re the greatest you, yes.

But you’re also not greater than everybody else.

Because everybody is great in their own way.

You’re the greatest you but somebody else is also their own greatest self.

So before getting that cocky attitude of “I’m greater/I’m better than everybody else” remember that you’re not.

Nobody is and nobody will ever be greater/better than everybody else.

“Don’t be mad cause I’m doing me better than you doing you” — Childish Gambino

(This specific lyric popped into my mind while writing this blog post and I think that it embodies the whole blog post perfectly. Here’s how I see that lyric from Childish Gambino: “I’m great as myself and you could be great too but you have a hard time actually doing you because you’re too busy trying to be me or be greater than me when what you’re really supposed to be doing is just do you.”)

Let me know what you thought about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the 👏 button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly. And subscribing to my newsletter could be quite practical!

Thank you for stopping by, hope you’ve had a nice stay! ❤︎

MediumTwitter FacebookInstagramYoutube

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--

Lalaina Rackson

Empowering a generation to live authentically #WeTheAuthenticGeneration — Email me: LalainaRackson@gmail.com