What would you do if you knew you could not fail?

Lalaina Rackson
3 min readJan 1, 2016

--

Today is a new day.

Today is a New Year.

People make plans.

People make resolutions.

Everyone wants to change.

Everyone wants some changes.

But is anyone MAKING a change?

It is a tradition to tell yourself that you will change.

That this year, is YOUR year.

People say “New year, New me”.

But I say “This life, is MY life”.

There is not just one year that belongs to you.

Every years are yours, so long as you’re alive!

But what is being alive if you’re not living?

I say “This is my life, this is me!”

Every seconds are mine.

Every seconds I am changing.

Evolving.

Every seconds I am being me.

Every seconds I am being a new me.

A new year does not symbolize a new me.

I am the same person I was last year.

And the year before.

And when I was 8.

But I can be a better me.

But not for the sake of the new year.

I don’t owe anything to the new year.

But I owe it to myself to be better.

To do better!

I owe it to my 8-year-old self,

because she is out there in the past.

Wondering if things are ever gonna change.

If dreams are ever going to come true.

If she is ever going to be happy.

And it is my responsibility to show her that the answer to all those ifs is YES.

So my question to you today is “What would you do if you knew you could not fail?”

I know a lot of people that would be happier if they just did it, not wondering if they could fail or not.

And I am one of them.

Let’s be honest, life would be better if we knew we could not fail.

But here’s the thing, you don’t know whether you would fail or not.

You just chose to not do it because you tell yourself that you WILL fail.

But in reality you don’t know.

You don’t know because you did not do it.

And that is a failure in itself.

So why are we so afraid to do things?

Why are we so afraid to fail when we constantly make ourselves fail on purpose?

That does not make sense.

Not doing something does not prevent you from failing.

That just prevents you from ever succeeding.

And what you are actually doing, by not doing the things that you really want to do, is making yourself fail.

So why don’t we just do it?

Let’s give it a try and see what happens!

No more “New year, new me”.

Instead let’s say “MY LIFE, MY CHOICES”.

Let’s chose to live our lives.

Let’s chose to be ourselves all our lives.

Because you have tons of years.

You have tons of days.

You have tons of hours.

You have tons of seconds.

But you only have one life.

And it’s yours and yours only.

So let’s JUST DO IT!

Please never ever give up!

Much love and support from me to you.

xoxo

Lalaina R.

Originally published at thelalainalifestyle.wordpress.com on January 1, 2016.

Let me know what you think about this story by leaving a comment. Clicking the heart button is optional, but appreciated. Following me is required, if you want to read more stories by yours truly.

Thank you for stopping by, hope you had a nice stay! ❤︎

PREVIOUS STORY◀︎ ▶︎NEXT STORY

--

--