The Apple iPad Pro 12.9 is a Glorious Creation Machine

Apple’s new iPad Pro and Pencil designs are excellent and the Smart Keyboard is better than ever

Lance Ulanoff
15 min readNov 5, 2018
Today’s 12.9-inch iPad Pro is smaller and lighter than the original.

I’m in my happy place. A large-screen tablet rests comfortably on my lap. In my hand, is a Bluetooth pen, darting across the screen as I draw lines, adjust shading, work on bringing out the eyes. I’m not thinking about the implement or drawing surface, just the art. I stare at the photo of the old man I’m drawing, wondering if I can recreate that knowing look, one that says, I’ve seen much and have stories to tell.

If nothing else, this is evidence that Apple’s new iPad Pro 12.9 and Smart Pencil succeed as immersive, compelling, and, utterly effective artist engine, a studio’s-worth of tools and power packed into a subtle, 11.04-in. x 8.46 in. x 0.23-in., 1.39 lb. aluminum and glass chassis.

On the front is strong glass that Apple won’t identify. The back is aluminum.

After years of rounded edges and and an arguably softer feel, the 2018-edition iPad Pro feels like a departure. That is until you pull out the original, 2010 iPad. With a 1.5 lb, half-inch-thick-plus body, Apple’s first tablet feels like a beast next to any modern iPad, including the $329

--

--

Lance Ulanoff

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.