The magical stretch of land between Chile and Argentina

LatinaTravels
4 min readJan 18, 2018

--

(Em Português, aqui)

If someone ever tell you they'll fly from Chile to Mendoza (Argentina) could you do me a favor and slap them right on their adorable faces? I mean it. Forget the flight and let yourself wander through one of the most jaw-dropping road trips on the continent. I'm talking Pan-American Highway, baby.

Why go there: if you're anywhere around Santiago (Chile), you can visit Mendoza (Argentina) for its wineries, to hike Aconcagua, or just to eat the famous assado argentino. Just find an excuse and get there quickly. I mean, not that quickly. The bus trip is seven hours long, but every minute of it it’s worth it. If you're in Mendoza, you don't need to cross to Chile to see a good chunk of the land I'm talking about. Just take a day trip to Aconcagua.

Pro-tip: if you're coming from Chile, buy your bus ticket online and before anything else make sure you're securing the first seat on the second floor. There's no better way to see the majestic landscape. You need to buy it in advance, of course, but it's worth it. Just a couple of days before will do.

What do do in Mendoza: the small city packs a punch with its character and activities: from sipping wine at some of the best wineries in the country to having a love affair with the different empanada fillings, from lush green parks to the highest mountain outside Asia … you'll find something cool to do, always with the Andes on the background.

Where to stay: it's a small city, but be sure to stay at the city center, near Parque San Martin. After three months of sharing rooms at various hostels, I wanted something just for myself, so I choose Airbnb this time. It had fast-ish internet , but it was a bit far away from the center (where you can find hostels for as little as 8USD).

Safety: I was assured the place is safe. However, I witnessed a guy being arrested shortly after robbing a woman at a bus stop. It was enough for me to start panicking a bit (just enough to look for pepper spray online). I still managed to do some hiking by myself with nothing bad to report, yay.

For digital nomads: Internet here can be quite sketchy. I know some people hate Starbucks, but hey, it's reliable. In Mendoza it's the same. There's a lot of charming coffee shops, but not all of them have reliable internet. So, you can count on the good-ole Seattle chain. Airbnb listings with business-ready facilities are also available.

Be sure to do the High Mountain tour. Every tour operator in Mendoza offers it, and so it's quite cheap (and helpful in getting to places you couldn't visit by yourself). You'll get nice views from the Aconcagua, visit villages like Las Cuevas (population, less than 50), and see stunning natural sights along the way. Also, a super sad view, the Climbers' cemetery :(

After a week in Mendoza, it was time to get back to Chile. And again, I was lucky enough to secure the first seat to get an awesome view of the road.

--

--

LatinaTravels

Brazilian digital nomad. On the road since July/16, when I gave up my apartment, sold all my stuff, and kept what I could carry. IG: __bkbound__