115 Slang and Idioms in Harry Potter movie + video

How to learn English with Harry Potter? We gathered 101 expressions and hard vocabs with meaning and examples in dictionaries like Longman or Cambridge or Merriam-Webster or Collins in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

VidiomLang
13 min readAug 16, 2023
learn english with harry potter movie
  1. rumor

an unofficial interesting story or piece of news that might be true or invented, and quickly spreads from person to person:

-Rumours are going round (the school) about Mr Mason and his assistant.

-She’s circulating/spreading rumours that the manager is going to resign.

  • I heard a rumour that she’d been seeing Luke Harrison.

2. I am afraid so

used as a way of making an affirmative statement when one wants to show regret at having to do so

  • ”Is it raining?” “I’m afraid so.”

In this video you can see some idioms and slang in harry potter and examples in some other movies and series:

3. wise

having or showing the ability to make good judgments, based on a deep understanding and experience of life:

-I think you made a wise choice.

  • ”I never drink more than three glasses of wine.” “How wise.”

4. trust someone with my life

trust somebody with something phrasal verb:

to let someone have something or have control over something, believing that they will be careful with it

-I wouldn’t trust him with the keys. I’d trust her with my life.

5. tyke

a young child:

  • These new toys aim to engage tykes’ brains

6. fell asleep

to begin to sleep Grandad fell asleep watching TV. One in seven road accidents is caused by drivers falling asleep at the wheel (=falling asleep while driving).

7. there you go

used when giving something to someone, usually after a request for the thing, such as giving someone goods that they have bought

8. watch

to be careful of something

-I have to watch my weight (= be careful not to become too heavy) now I’m not exercising so much.

  • Watch your language (= do not use rude words), young man!

9. worst

superlative of bad : of the lowest quality, or the most unpleasant, difficult, or severe:

-That was the worst meal I’ve ever eaten.

  • ”It was the worst moment of my life,” she admitted.

10. sort of

in some way or to some degree:

-I was sort of hoping to leave early today.

  • It’s sort of silly, but I’d like a copy of the photograph.

11. muggle

a person who does not have a particular type of skill or knowledge:

-When it comes to knitting and sewing I’m a total muggle.

{in the Harry Potter series of books by J.K. Rowling a person who does not have magical powers}

12. famous

known and recognized by many people:

-a famous actress/building

  • Marie Curie is famous for her contribution to science.

13. far off

A far-off place is a great distance away:

  • a far-off land

14. growing up

to gradually become an adult

-I grew up in Scotland (= I lived there when I was young).

  • Taking responsibility for yourself is part of the process of growing up.

80 animation movies for learning English + Video!

15. after all

despite earlier problems or doubts:

  • The rain has stopped, so the game will go ahead after all.

16. get up

When you get up, you get out of bed.

-They have to get up early in the morning.

17. cousin

a child of a person's aunt or uncle, or, more generally, a distant (= not close) relation:

  • My brother's wife and I both had babies around the same time, so the cousins are very close in age.

18. Happy birthday

a greeting you use when it is someone’s birthday

-Happy birthday, Jimmy!

19. aunt

the sister of someone's father or mother, or the wife of someone's uncle or aunt:

-I have an aunt in Australia.

-This is my Aunt Camille.

19. hurry up

do something more quickly:

-Hurry up, or we’ll miss the bus!

20. uncle

the brother of someone's mother or father, or the husband of someone's aunt or uncle:

-I have lots of uncles and aunts.

-We invited my Uncle Steve over.

21. darling

a person who is very much loved or liked:

-Oh darling, I love you.

-Here's your change, darling.

22. count

to rely or depend on someone or something -used with on:

-He counted on his parents to help with the expenses.

23. I don't care

1. I have no preference.

- A: "What do you want to have for dinner?" B: "I don't care you can pick."

2. This does not bother or upset me. Often used passive-aggressively, as to hide one's actual feelings of upset.

-A: "I don't care what Scott does now that we're broken up." B: "Are you sure about that?"

24. pumpkin

used when speaking to someone you love

25. looking forward to

to feel pleased and excited about something that is going to happen:

-I'm really looking forward to my holiday.

-She was looking forward to seeing the grandchildren again.

26. warn

To make someone realize a possible danger or problem, especially one in the future:

-We were warned not to eat the fish which might upset our stomachs.

27. meal

an occasion when food is eaten, or the food that is eaten on such an occasion:

-a hot meal

-a three-course meal

28. boring

not interesting or exciting:

-She finds opera boring.

-It's boring to sit on the plane with nothing to read.

29. ugly

unpleasant to look at; not attractive:

-I think a lot of modern architecture is very ugly.

-Yesterday I saw the ugliest baby I've ever seen in my life.

30. bred

to keep animals for the purpose of producing young animals in a controlled way:

-Terriers are bred for their fighting instincts.

  • His main income comes from breeding cattle.

45 idioms and 87 slang about love and date + Video!

31. captivity

the situation in which a person or animal is kept somewhere and is not allowed to leave:

-All the hostages, when released from captivity, looked remarkably fit and well.

-Animals bred in captivity would probably not survive if they were released into the wild.

32. I see

You can say 'I see' to indicate that you understand what someone is telling you.

-'He came home in my car.' 'I see.'

33. anytime

at a time that is not or does not need to be decided or agreed:

-Call round to see me anytime.

-We don't expect the economic situation to change anytime soon

34. sweetheart

used for talking to a person that you love, especially a child or person you have a romantic relationship with:

-"Happy birthday, sweetheart," he said.

35. I swear

1. used to stress that one is being absolutely honest I didn't do anything wrong. I swear.

2. informal used for emphasis swear, everytime I see her she's got a new boyfriend.

36. magic

the skill of performing tricks to entertain people, such as making things appear and disappear and pretending to cut someone in half:

-He's a comedian who also does magic.

37. be off

to leave: to start going, running, etc.

-I must be off if I want to make the next bus and the runners are off.

38. caveat

a warning to consider something before taking any more action, or a statement that limits a more general statement:

-He agreed to the interview, with the caveat that he could approve the final article.

38. proudest

Proud: feeling pleasure and satisfaction because you or people connected with you have done or got something good:

-You must be very proud of your son.

-We're particularly proud of our company's environmental record.

39. moment

a very short period of time:

-Can you wait a moment?

-I'll be ready in just a moment.

40. state school

a school that is free to go to because the government provides the money for it

41. belong

if you feel you belong in a place or situation, you feel happy and comfortable in it, because you have the same interests and ideas as other people, I worked there for five years but never really felt I belonged.

42. dyeing

to change the colour of something using a special liquid:

-For a change, why not dye your T-shirts?

-He dyed his hair black.

43. bits of

Bit: a small piece or a small amount of something:

-little bits of paper

44. ill

not feeling well, or suffering from a disease:

-I felt ill so I went home.

-He's been ill with meningitis.

45. whelk

a soft sea creature, similar to a snail, that lives in a hard shell

46. shoo

said to animals or children to make them go away:

-"Shoo!" she shouted at the cat.

47. in my opinion

According to me:

-He likes you too much, in my opinion.

-I received a mark which in my opinion seemed quite harsh.

48. blasted

used in phrases to express anger:

-I've forgotten my blasted keys!

49. bloody

used to express anger or to emphasize what you are saying in a slightly rude way:

-I've had a bloody awful week.

-It's a bloody disgrace that some war widows don't get a decent pension.

50. miserable

very unhappy:

She's miserable living on her own.

51. get off

used for telling someone to stop touching someone or something:

-you’re hurting my back.

52. mad

mentally ill, or unable to behave in a reasonable way:

-I think I must be going mad.

  • Do I look like some mad old woman in this hat?

53. make a wish

to wish for somethingClose your eyes and make a wish.

54. demand

to ask for something forcefully, in a way that shows that you do not expect to be refused:

-I demanded an explanation.

-The union is demanding a seven percent pay rise this year.

55. at once

immediately:

-You have to call him at once.

56. dry up

to stop talking because you do not know what to say

57. expect

to think or believe something will happen, or someone will arrive:

-We are expecting a lot of applicants for the job.

-I expect (that) you'll find it somewhere in your bedroom.

58. particularly

especially, or more than usual:

-We're particularly interested to hear from people who speak two or more European languages.

-I didn't particularly want to go, but I had to.

59. afraid

feeling regret, esp. because something is not the way you think it should be:

-A lot of those stores will cheat you, I’m afraid.

60. blimey

an expression of surprise:

-Blimey, what a lot of food!

61. wizard

one skilled in magic

62. thumping

very big or important:

-a thumping defeat/victory.

-They won by a thumping majority.

63. I'll wager

used to say that you are confident that something is true:

-I'll wager that boy's never worked in his life!

64. train up

If someone trains you up, they teach you new skills or give you the necessary preparation so that you will reach the standard required for a particular job or activity:

-The company has a policy of employing recent graduates and training them up.

-He usually preferred to train up a crew of enthusiastic young sailors from scratch.

65. pleased

happy or satisfied:

-a pleased expression/smile.

-Are you pleased about John's promotion?

66. inform

to tell someone about particular facts:

-The name of the dead man will not be released until his relatives have been informed.

-Why wasn't I informed about this earlier?

67. accept

to agree to take something:

-Do you accept credit cards?

-She was in Mumbai to accept an award for her latest novel.

68. witchcraft

the activity of performing magic to help or harm other people

69. wizardry

the skill of a wizard

70. swore

to promise or say firmly that you are telling the truth or that you will do something or behave in a particular way:

-I don't know anything about what happened, I swear (it).

-You might find it difficult to believe, but I swear (that) the guy just came up to me and gave me the money.

71. put a stop to

If you put a stop to something that you do not like or approve of, you prevent it from happening or continuing:

-His daughter should have stood up and put a stop to all these rumours.

72. rubbish

waste material or things that are no longer wanted or needed:

-I forgot to put the rubbish out this morning.

Put the empty box in the rubbish bin.

73. all along

from the very beginning:

-Do you think he's been cheating us all along?

74. witch

a person (especially a woman) who is credited with having usually malignant supernatural powers.

75. freak

one that is markedly unusual or abnormal:

-such as a person or animal having a physical oddity and appearing in a circus sideshow

76. abnormal

different from what is usual or average, especially in a way that is bad:

-abnormal behaviour/weather/conditions

-Tests revealed some abnormal skin cells.

77. land somebody with something

to give someone something unpleasant to do, because no one else wants to do it Maria’s been landed with all the tidying up as usual.

78. car crash

a serious accident involving one or more cars:

-He was killed in a car crash.

79. outrage

(especially of an unfair action or statement) to cause someone to feel very angry, shocked, or upset:

-Local people were outraged at the bombing.

-A proposed five percent cut in pay has outraged staff at the warehouse.

80. scandal

(an action or event that causes) a public feeling of shock and strong moral disapproval:

-a financial/political/sex scandal

-Their affair caused/created a scandal in the office.

81. folk

people, especially those of a particular group or type:

-old folk

-Ordinary folk can't afford cars like that.

82. head master

a man who is in charge of a school

83. crackpot

a person who is silly or stupid

84. fool

a person who behaves in a silly way without thinking:

-You fool, you missed your chance!

-He's a fool if he thinks she still loves him.

85. magic trick

an illusory feat; considered magical by naive observers

86. insult

an offensive remark or action:

She made several insults about my appearance.

-The steelworkers' leader rejected the two percent pay rise saying it was an insult to the profession.

87. strictly speaking

used to say that something is true if you are going to be very exact and correct about it Strictly speaking, spiders are not insects.

88. behind schedule

not according to schedule :

lateWe're running about five minutes behind schedule.

89. off

away from a place or position, esp. the present place or position:

-He drove off at high speed.

-She’s off to Canada next week.

90. unless

except if:

-You can't get a job unless you have experience (= you can only get a job if you have experience).

-Unless you call me to say you're not coming, I'll see you at the theatre (= I will see you there if you do not call to say you are not coming).

91. rather

quite; to a slight degree:

-It's rather cold today, isn't it?

  • That's rather a difficult book - here's an easier one for you.

92. require

to need something or make something necessary:

-Please call this number if you require any further information.

-Skiing at 80 miles per hour requires total concentration.

93. plain

not decorated in any way; with nothing added:

-She wore a plain black dress.

-We’ve chosen a plain carpet (= one without a pattern) and patterned curtains.

94. robe

a long, loose piece of clothing worn especially on very formal occasions:

-Judges wear black robes when they are in court.

95. wand

a special thin stick waved by a person who is performing magic tricks:

-The fairy godmother waved her magic wand over the cabbages and they turned into horses.

96. essential

necessary or needed:

-Government support will be essential if the project is to succeed.

-There is essential work to be done before the building can be re-occupied.

97. equipment

the set of necessary tools, clothing, etc. for a particular purpose:

-office/camping/kitchen equipment

-electrical equipment

98. hide

the strong, thick skin of an animal, used for making leather

99. crikey

an expression of surprise

100. vastly

very much:

-vastly different

-vastly superior

-vastly improved

101. misunderstood

to think you have understood someone or something when you have not:

-If you think that these transport problems can be solved by building more roads, you completely misunderstand the nature of the problem.

-I told him I’d meet him here, but perhaps he misunderstood and went straight to the restaurant.

102. beast

an animal, especially a large or wild one:

-a wild beast

-The room wasn’t fit for man or beast.

103. pewter

a bluish-grey metal that is a mixture of tin and lead:

-a pewter plate/tankard

104. cauldron

a large, round container for cooking in, usually supported over a fire, and used especially in the past

105. desire

to want something, especially strongly:

-I desire only to be left in peace.

-The hotel had everything you could possibly desire.

106. owl

a bird with a flat face and large eyes that hunts small mammals at night

107. toad

a small, brown animal, similar to a frog, that has big eyes and long back legs for swimming and jumping:

-Toads have drier, lumpier skins than frogs and spend less time in the water.

108. presume

to believe something to be true because it is very likely, although you are not certain:

-I presume (that) they’re not coming, since they haven’t replied to the invitation.

-You are Dr Smith, I presume?

109. supply

to provide something that is wanted or needed, often in large quantities and over a long period of time:

-Electrical power is supplied by underground cables.

-Three people have been arrested for supplying arms to the terrorists.

110. bless my soul

used in speech to express surpriseYou decided to come see us after all. Well, bless my soul!

111. defense

the ability to protect against attack or harm, or something used to protect against attack or harm:

-The vaccine strengthens the body’s defenses against infection.

112. fearfully

extremely:

-These cakes are fearfully good.

113. fascinating

extremely interesting:

-The book offers a fascinating glimpse of the lives of the rich and famous.

-I found the whole movie fascinating.

114. subject

an area of knowledge that is studied in school, college, or university:

-My favourite subjects at school were history and English.

-mainly UK Her subject (= special area of study) is low-temperature physics.

115. alley

a narrow road or path between buildings, esp. between the backs of buildings:

-I ran down the alley and up the back stairs.

--

--

VidiomLang

If you're tired of books and learning difficult grammar and vocabulary, then take a break and watch some movies.