Lesley Haw7
33 min readJun 23, 2023

Close to the Bone — Loads of Individual Interviews/Stories with Sanctuary Dogs.

Chunks of hearty tales direct from the dog’s mouths at Animal SOS, Ahangama, Sri Lanka.

All words by Lesley Haw7

Animal SOS is home to over 2,500 dogs who have been injured, abused, dumped and succumbed to far too many road accidents across the south of Sri Lanka. Once they arrive at Animal SOS, it generally becomes their forever home.

The sanctuary became operational in 2009 and was founded by Kim Cooling from London. A lifelong animal lover and carer, she witnessed the jaw-dropping plights of Sri Lankan dogs during a holiday, and was determined to save the lives and souls of injured and critical dogs as best she could, from that moment on.

There are not necessarily bones to chew on here, but certainly the dogs have loads of startling stories to tell about their harsh pasts, present moments, hopes and dreams.

==============================================================

Name: Lithe.

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: My eye was really badly infected and it looked terrifying.

Fave Food: Lots of rice and fish!

Lithe

I will be two years old soon, and really seem to be enjoying myself at SOS after a rough ride. With me, it’s eat, sleep, play, repeat, and I do it all so well! Yesterday was great fun because it was raining and my friends were extra playful. Most of the dogs take shelter, but I revel in the rain and I love Monsoon season! The temperature was also cooler, which was a nice change.

I’m trying to be more boisterous when I play; I may try to look as if I’m going to attempt to semi rugby tackle someone, but bail and end up just scraping against them, scampering away at the last second. I’m still learning, but deep down I think I will always be a soft and gentle soul, even though I like to try and hang out with the tougher dogs.

Saying that, I’m not sure my peers would have played with me when I was a puppy. I had a terrible eye infection when I arrived at SOS. My eye was popping out of its socket really badly, as it was terribly infected. People would have been shocked and scared of me, and I desperately needed help. In the end, my eye was taken out, but I manage fine with one and I’m even told it suits me. That’s me as a puppy below, how cute I was, I must say!

What’s more, I have a distinctive tooth, which some people think is cute and like a pirate, but I’m not intending to hijack any ships off the Sri Lankan coast any time soon. Being told I look nice makes me smile even though I don’t have a mirror to see myself. I think not being able to see ourselves is what makes us animals so special, as we are not vain and have no horrid egos.

The other week I think I liked a boy and tried to play with him by patting him with my paw, but he barked so loud and bit me. Luckily the volunteer was next to me and airlifted me back to my safety corner. Why do the good girls always like the bad boys? Maybe that’s my lesson learnt the hard way, and from such a young age!

After I finish my rice and fish lunch, I’m always first in the queue waiting for the disabled dog’s leftovers, as they get extra fish which tastes swish! It can feel like a long wait and I’m always polite at the gate, but it’s worth the gamble for that piece of tasty protein I hope to divulge at the end. Hugs, Lithe xx

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need more compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

Commercial Bank, Galle Fort Branch A/C 1050013061

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Name: Iris.

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: Leg injury.

Fave Food: Plenty rice and fish!

Iris.

I seem to have cemented myself here as the super cheeky minx of Animal SOS! It must be to do with being a fiery red-head! I’m full of fun and love scrapping around with and winding up the boys — they rarely catch me and maybe my screams deafen them a bit as I run away, woops!

I’m a really alert and happy girl, almost always smiling. You’ll see that I just have three paws. One of them was amputated after someone took me to SOS with the lower part missing from my front leg when I was a year old. I live in a third world country called Sri Lanka, why have four paws when you can just have three! I can take the other dogs on no contest, and even if it looks like I’m defeated when I trot away, I’m not, as I still go running back for more! It passes the time and I’m still young. Maybe someone else benefitted from my extra leg, I hope so!

My funny foot, or lack of..

Us dogs stay in packs at SOS, with very few flitting to other ones like I do. Variety is the spice of life, and other packs seem to have welcomed me over the past couple of years. I think it’s simply because I’m cheeky, charming, independent and me!

Recently, I was hanging out with the small pack by the gate, greeting the workers as they go in and out. I love to jump up with my front paw to their knee and be stroked. Don’t tell anyone, but I also escaped into the outside yard a few times where some of the tougher dogs hang, but humans caught me and I was carried back unscathed, of course, all in the blink of an eye. Fun while it lasted. No one’s going to get one over on me if I can help it!

Some of the volunteers tell me about their travelling stories and one day I would like to hop around sunny France and Spain by myself and make new dog friends, especially in Marseille and Barcelona. These cities sound like my kind of stomping ground with zany levels of fun, silliness, adventure, grittiness and splendour! I’m a glass half-full kind of girl, and a gentle fun-loving tearaway! Oh, and seemingly I look like a fox. I’ll leave that for you to decide. Iris xxx

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need more compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Name: Blessing

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: Road accident.

Fave Food: Biscuits and Tuna for Breakfast.

Blessing (top).

People say I resemble a pretty little fluffy fox. Unfortunately life hasn’t been easy for me. My back legs were broken after I was run over by a horrible speeding van, which I can still remember. I ended up eating my legs, which were then amputated. I don’t know why I did this, but it’s seemingly a common after-effect for us dogs with leg injuries.

I spend the days and night lying on my side and wriggling around in a disabled compound with just my front paws to awkwardly move. It’s really tiring, hard, frustrating and exhausting, but you get used to whatever life throws at you, I guess. I’m three years-old and approach each day with the same vigour and enthusiasm. A nice man looks after us during the day. Some people think I’m mad and wonder where all my energy comes from for one so small!

Some of the other dogs in my compound get a bit tired of me shuffling around, but there’s nothing else I can do. I will snarl back though if anyone is being rude or unkind to me! Never underestimate the Blessing! I drink a lot of water since I use up a lot of energy, and because my body is so injured I cannot urinate without help, so my compound manager squeezes my bladder gently a few times per day to relieve me. My two other friends in the photo are so nice and sleep by my side at night. Funnily enough we’re all the same colour!

The days and nights can be extra long and tough for me though, as it’s really hard to get comfortable at times, and my rug gets all scrunched up as I wriggle around, which is a pest. I have to eat and drink lying on my side which is difficult, and I often need assistance and encouragement from human.

Talking of which, I do love human attention and am so comforted when I’m in someone’s arms. I feel so relieved, peaceful, relaxed and safe, and wish it happened more often, but the super workers are very busy. I’ve really bonded with one of the volunteers, and can almost sniff her coming before I see her, and screech and shriek with joy, shuffling forth to the door, so I can be lifted up for strokes and cuddles. I don’t think she can resist my operatic, comical squeals (to quote someone else). I’m just so overjoyed when I see her!

Recently, a visitor to SOS saw me and commented that I should maybe go to another place. She meant that I should be euthanised. I was tired that day in the worker’s arms, but it really shocked me. Then I heard the word afterlife which puzzled me too. I think I would like to stay as I am for now, and really hope it’s a lovely place to be, and worth the wait.

Heaven for me is being outside in the garden in a human’s arms, lying back and looking at the sky, hearing the birds and breathing in the fresh air and relaxing. It’s paradise, in fact. When I’m on the ground, I Iove scraping the tree bark and eating grass. Actually, one of my dreams came true lately, when a simple run was made in the garden for disabled dogs like me to move around and relax safely in. This means I can spend longer outside, which is brilliant, and my shrieks of joy can probably be heard in India! Blessing xxxxxxxxx

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs, like me. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Name: Wonkey.

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: Someone handed me in to Animal SOS saying I was a bit wonkey, and that became my name. Wonky by name, wonky by nature.

Fave Food: Fishy Rice.

Wonkey (left) and his best pal.

If I was to walk along the street, I think most people would be shocked and would maybe even laugh at me. This makes me sad and is a really sobering thought for me. As I lost a lot of my fur, I ended up getting skin cancer, since I had no protection from the sun, which is so strong here in Sri Lanka with high UVA levels. My lumps are very big and sometimes bleed. Sometimes my best friend Gabi licks them clean for me. I’m lucky to have her by my side.

One person here said I look like I’m wearing a leather jacket and that makes me feel so cool! My legs are irreversibly injured, but I’m told I do an amazing job of bopping around the sanctuary. I like to visit different sections and see what other dogs are up to. I’m very much my own dog, but actually sit in 3 different packs, which is unusual as the rest stay in just their own pack. I’m made to feel welcome and don’t bother anyone else. Although some dogs do keep away from me, but I’ve learned not to be upset by this, although it took a long time. Being different can sadly come at a cost sometimes.

Lunchtime is my favourite time of day when I bop around between different food bowls. I lost a lot of weight recently, but I’m managing to put some back on. They give us fresh-made food everyday here!

Currently I am in the clinic, where I have been for six weeks. I’ve been feeling weak with loss of appetite and thirst, but they have taken great, loving care of me. I love the staff for everything they have done to help and heal me. I have my down days for sure, but I’m generally an optimist, and am always surprising people with my strength and will to carry on.

At the moment, I just hope to get my strength back so I can enjoy more years with my friends at the sanctuary. I think if I was human like you, I’d be into rock and punk music, since I wear a leather jacket, look pretty radical and don’t care what people think of me!

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

=================================================

Name: Pip.

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: Boiling water burn due to a bad human.

Fave food: Fishy Rice and chips (I wish).

Pip (right) and Cooper.

Hiya! I’m known a bit of a bad boy at Animal SOS, but the ladies like the bad boys,right? That’s what I heard anyway. I don’t get to meet many new women here really. One of the volunteers is quite new though and I like to try and rip her skirt off with my teeth, but I don’t get very far these days! I’m just playing! Sometimes I do start some aggravation and fights in my pack. I think it’s my life history and past stress that’s never left me. It’s hard to erase certain memories.

I arrived at Animal SOS in 2021 with a huge maggot infested boiling water injury all down my neck. Can you imagine?? Sadly it’s something that some nasty, heinous humans do to dogs here as they don’t like is existing and roaming around trying hard to survive. It was agony and so distressing, and took many painful, grueling weeks to heal. Along with chemical creams, manuka honey was particularly beneficial in making it better. I know that a new mother dog at the sanctuary just now underwent the same torture, and she is being treated while nursing her four puppies.

I really hate people and don’t trust them because of this. However, they’ve been so unbelievably kind and patient to me here at SOS, through thick and thin. And guess what, I even have the accolade of ‘Chief Treat Taste Tester’. That’s right! They try all the new fancy pieces on me. My favourite is a Sri Lankan biscuit called VitaBix, so please bring some when you come!

You’ll see my accomplice/right hand man next to me. That’s Cooper. I look after him and he looks up to me! We’re the typical cool, tough boys sitting on the steps, only this is Animal SOS, not the centre of London, but we can pretend! Pip X

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Name: Weligama

Reason I’m at Animal SOS

Fave Food: Anything I can get my paws on, and I dig deep.

Weligama

I have a reputation at Animal SOS, and guess I’m really one of a kind. I take an interest in everyone and everything, and for that reason I can’t help but explore my territory thoroughly everyday just to make sure everything is running smoothly and there are no problems. Other people see this as me being nosy, getting in the way, obstructing gangways and bugging everyone around me. I really don’t mean it and actually can’t help it. I guess I was born annoying, sorry folks.

One person recently described me as being similar to an irritating Crazed Aunt type figure who constantly interferes with her rear-end in the way, claiming: ‘I’m just interested’. Hmm, well I can’t relate to that as I have no nieces or nephews as far as I know.

I think I’m obsessed with open doors and will always be the first to peer and go through them, which really hacks people off, as I always get in the way. I’m not sure if there is a term for this addiction. One day I’d like to visit a castle in Scotland, and explore the endless corridors, breathtaking array of open doors and fancy rooms filled with all manner of thrilling things! I hope I’m able to find the keys to the treasure trove.

I used to hang outside one of the clinics at SOS, and was always fascinated about what was going on in there. Sadly, I got in the way so much that I annoyed the staff with my obstructive voyeurism. I overheard one of the workers recently suggesting I’d even be present for the opening of an envelope, and I have to say, this could well be correct. You never know what might be inside!

A nasty road accident in Weligama which knocked me for six, led me to Animal SOS years ago and I’m part of the wallpaper there now, sorry folks! Sadly, I am blind in one eye, so I have to pay extra attention to what’s behind those doors to get a good glimpse of proceedings! I also have a radical new haircut just now and feel like a trendsetter to be honest! I got tired of my hippie dreadlock, matted style at the back and got that section shaved, and it’s very liberating! In fact it’s pretty much goth meets new wave punk kind of style, so I really am unique here. Don’t follow the herd, that’s what I say!

Me with Volunteer Lesley who took me out on her scooter one afternoon! It was so much fun— she was so nice to me and I had a ball!

As I said, I just waddle my way through life. I don’t really have friends as such, and am a bit of a loner, but I am never nasty to anyone. I find the puppies are nicest to me, and I always return their kindness and sweet gestures. Wind is another problem of mine at times, and it’s hard to control, but at least the puppies don’t complain!

My name is probably yelled out the most at Animal SOS, but at least people know me, and it means I have a taste of what fame must be like! Deep down I think I’m semi well-loved, but humans can often focus on the negative too much, when there’s only good in me! Being different comes at a cost, which I learned as a young girl, but Weligama ain’t going to bow down to anyone who short changes her!

Love me or loathe me, I’m Weligama, and I’m pleased to meet you and investigate out more about you! xxx

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

===============================================================

Name: Kabalana

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: I was hit by a train and badly hurt.

Fave Food: Anybody else’s rice and fish — why do their’s always seem to taste better than your own?!

Kabalana

Kabalana by name, Kabalana by nature, that’s me! I was found in a really sorry state next to the railway line in Kabalana a couple of years ago. All I can remember is the force of something huge going past me and being in unspeakable pain. I thought my life was over there and then.

Luckily though, a nice lady heard my squeals and arranged for someone at SOS to collect me. There is a God afterall, I thought, I’ve been given a second chance, and what a journey it’s been. My legs were broken, but there was still hope that with physiotherapy and exercise I’d pull through. I worked hard on myself and kept the faith, and eventually I was actually able to walk again! I was overjoyed, and will never forget my plight and good fortune.

All this of course does not mean I’m an angel. I’ve taken it upon myself to be the security guard of the lower site of the sanctuary, and take this job very seriously. Even if I bark at a human the first couple of times they enter and depart through the gate, it does not mean they’re off the hook. I’m also like this with the staff who I see everyday, and they think I’m bonkers! I’m always suspicious of people, no exceptions. You’re human beings, and humans do bad things, so I’ll be sceptical of you long after meeting you.

One day I’d like to work in government security, passport control, or, more locally, on security at Hotel Kabalana. The building is the same colour as my golden fur, its named after me, and I have lots of relevant experience! I would need to dress smartly for this role, and am looking for a burgundy jacket with my name in gold stitching to look official and important. Maybe when I work out my measurements, someone can make this for me. Maroon or crimson is fine too. I know I will do a great job, as I’m so alert and will keep all the riff raff out.

Spurring myself into action..

Then I hope to graduate to government security, so I can also speak to our awful President about the harm he’s caused my nation’s animals, and tell him he needs to put us first, ahead of profits and corruption. Cruelty to dogs in Sri Lanka is rife, and many of my friends have endured unspeakable levels of suffering that would bring a tear to a glass eye.

There need to be laws introduced to stop humans hurting dogs and to punish them severely for it. At the moment, anyone caught harming an animal may, in rare cases, be fined 100 rupees. That’s 1.22 US dollars! A sick joke.😥

Our precious lives are worth way more than that, and it’s one of the main reasons we end up at Animal SOS in barbaric and stomach churning states. It’s an outrage and we are literally dying to change this. See you at the protests some day, I hope — and of course I’ll be keeping an eye on you. Kabalana.

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need more compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

Commercial Bank, Galle Fort Branch A/C 1050013061

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

=================================================

***THE WEDDING STORY***

This true life tale involves two dog lovers, Guru and Elsa, who live with their 2,500 friends at Animal SOS dog sanctuary, Sri Lanka.

“When will be the big day, my dear?”

“Soon, my love. Just a few more arrangements to be made. We’ll talk with the vicar lying down across from us this afternoon, in his vestry. And our friends in our pack here will be our witnesses and guests.”

“Oh that sounds amazing, I can’t wait to be your wife, and we’ll be sure to help the humans here look after the sick puppies here together when they arrive poorly at our sanctuary, since we can’t have puppies of our own.

“I think our house is just about ok for now, but hopefully we will expand very soon if other humans can help us with some kind offerings. We must also think about our disabled friends who would love a hydrotherapy pool.”

“Yes, all of that is on the gift list and would be the best thing that could happen for us and all our friends around us.

“I know those lists are normally hideous, but our list is a more charitable, altruistic one, though I think I did request a hamper of the local butcher’s finest prime cuts, if I recall correctly, and a brand new Mercedes all mod cons 2,500 seater-bus, since we all love travelling and seeing new places with the windows wide open.

“Since it’s on the list we’ll be sure to not get two! Would be great for our honeymoon too. We’ll share the driving. You drive and I’ll be the backseat passenger.

“More towels, sheets and blankets are always good, but they don’t need to be matching. I’m not fussy.”

“Yes, anything you say. I never want to leave your side. A woo woo wuff, always be mine, awoo woof wuff.”

The End.

Sadly, Guru died suddenly from a seizure in October 2023, leaving Elsa a widow, and so upset. The staff will also miss him everyday, as will Banner, his best man and special friend.

Before Guru arrived at Animal SOS, he was found in a marsh after being knocked down by a bus, (they go at heinous rates) and rescued by the charity. Nursed back to health, he became a strong, strapping boy, and was so loving and trusting.

Guru in the marsh after being knocked over by a bus a few years ago.

Elsa has her friends around for support, and knows she’ll meet her man again in time, forever cherishing every warm memory of her beloved Guru. Sleep well, dearest boy with the golden heart.

Gorgeous Guru.

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Name: TAM

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: I’m not sure..but I had a hard time.

Fave Food: Whatever’s available! Milk, biscuits, yogurt, fish, rice, eggs, cheese — maybe a pie would be nice.

Wild me on my second day at the nice house I came to.

Funnily enough, Tamsin was my name, before someone realised I was actually a boy! It was almost a foregone conclusion that the dogs dumped at the Animal SOS house were girls, as females are often unwanted, as they need to be neutered which costs money, and males are seen as better, especially as guard dogs. Sri Lanka is a very backward, poor, misogynistic country, sadly, where too many people are cruel to animals and set out to hurt us badly.

So then my name was shortened to Tam, and many people, especially Scottish Lesley who stayed with me, said I really suited it! She seems to find it amusing and I know it’s a rough and tumble kind of name in Scotland, emblematic of me, but I can take that. It’s good to be the one and only Tam at the sanctuary!

Seemingly, I’m the ‘typical’ looking Sri Lankan dog that so many people seem to hate. Nothing typical about me! People in this country are single-minded and obsessed with having only Labradors, Alsations, Dobermans and Rottweilers as pets, as if they’re superior to the rest of us. It’s a total fallacy. And these dogs are bred over and over which is not healthy, and unfair on the mother dog who has too many litters over her lifetime. It’s entirely abhorrent, in fact.

Plus, they often don’t look after them properly, keeping them chained up for hours on end. They see the rest of us street dogs as vermin and treat us horribly, when we’re actually incredibly cute and have gorgeous characteristics. Well I’m glad to be me now, especially after finding Animal SOS, where they think I’m cheeky and handsome! The sanctuary is full of stunning, adorable dogs like me!

I turned up at the Animal SOS Manager’s House a lone ranger. It’s like I just awoke from a dream, or maybe a nightmare, and then I landed at the house sheepishly walking around, not really knowing my place. One of the workers, Lesley, jokes that I jumped over the wall after my mates told me one Saturday night I was looking worse for wear and needed some help. Maybe she’s psychic, but I honestly can’t remember my story.

They say sometimes your brain has a way of cancelling out terrible things, known as memory suppression. I’m not sure where exactly the cuts and grazes on my body came from, but I do recall some dogs in the street being unkind to me, and starting fights, which was terrifying for a young pup like me, with no mummy.

Attention was what I really wanted and had been lacking, so this meant I was a rather loud and troublesome boy, but with no bad nature. When new puppies arrive at the house they need to be kept alone until they’re checked for diseases, and I hated this so much, so I howled and cried a lot until someone came to see me, preferably with milk, which was comforting. If you don’t ask you don’t get, right?

After a few days, I shared Lesley’s room, since I was so distressed and loud one night. I liked getting close in the bed with her. She would lift me in and I felt so happy to the point I would give her kisses on her stomach. She said I was biting into her and I wouldn’t stop, so I had to be demoted to the floor again, with a blanket of course, next to her bed. I guess in hindsight they were overly enthusiastic love bites.

That was the only time I bit into anyone, and it was with good intention. Poor me. Always to blame for something. Latterly I shared a room with little puppy Elsie, so I did quieten down a bit, but not for long. I’m very excitable.

One day I was longing to get outside and decided it would be a great idea to jump up to the window and hang off the bars, but I ended up hanging by my foot as I got it stuck. I was crying so much, but one of the workers called Ace, saved me and cuddled me. Next day the vet came and said I needed cage rest.

Oh god! I was having absolutely none of this and completely refused it. I’m too wild, raucous and rocknroll for cage rest! That’s for old dogs and I’m still so young! My foot ended up getting better of its own accord, but now I have a distinctive walk where my back right foot turns in, but I can deal with that! Vets always give such boring advice I have absolutely no time for in my hectic life!

I always wanted to run before I could walk, and anytime the door of my room opened, I raced out and ran amok, as I was dying to play with the other dogs, especially Luca. He is a handsome dog and had a really pretty girlfriend called Francine, so I was attracted to them and wanted to be in their dream team, which seemed like a happy place to be, laughing and fooling around.

They were really playful too, so those were nice days before I went to the sanctuary, where I now share a compound with some other dogs from the house. Poor young Jeannie arrived pregnant from the street and some people seem to think I had something to do with it, as I’m a bit wild!

I have no idea what they’re talking about — I’m no hellraiser! I refuse to believe any of this. If they turn out light brown and bonkers, it will merely be a coincidence. They will have to take DNA tests to prove it’s me. Nothing to do with the Tam.

Relaxing with my milk at the house like a good boy.

Lesley told me a great story about when she went to Phuket in Thailand to help with other poor dogs. On her day off she went to a waterpark, and was scared of going down a flume head first as instructed, in case she damaged her teeth, and felt very vulnerable, as she likes to lie back on these things.

She hesitated for a bit and was squirming, but then thought of ME and how I would approach the situation, imagining me firing down immediately with my gung-ho attitude, without the mat. Safety first and all that garble. Anyway, then she just went for it! I’m glad I was of service there, and hope to be her guiding light all the more in life! Help one another, as they say.

Hey, I’ve just thought of an idea. I’m going to be a Life Coach when I’m older, or actually, why don’t I just do it now?! I’ve got loads of life experience and can understand peoples’ issues and problems. I could give a positive listening ear. I can tell them just to forget past s*** and to just go for it! I have a special Tam Toolbox for this. You humans really do make things difficult for yourselves, I think.

Then I’ll earn lots of money and can give back to the sanctuary. They’ll be able to build more disabled compounds for poor, injured dogs and have two hydrotherapy pools. They also need a nice play area for disabled dogs too. The ground in some parts needs raised to stop flooding during monsoon season, which is a very tough time for us all.

Guess what! I heard Luca and Francine no longer talk to each other since they arrived at the sanctuary from the house we shared. Bonus! This means I might have a chance with the divine Francine! But like a sensible boy turned man, I’ll build on my career first, thus upping my game, and surely she won’t be able to resist me. Positive thinking in action!

I would also like to build an Animal Community Hall near Ahangama, where different animals can socialise and help one another to the sound of nice music. There will also be parties until the early hours and I’ll arrange tuk tuks home for everyone. If they don’t have a home, they can stay with me in my castle and do some jobs like cleaning the oven, gutting the cellar, fixing the roof, or polishing the windows.

And if Jeannie needs a new house for her family or whatever, I can help with that. See, I’m a caring and charitable boy with lots of empathy. Never forget, highly empathetic people are like this as they’ve been through the wringer many times themselves, so remember never to take advantage of an empath's kindness, and don’t torture them with your own problems and issues. They don’t need any more trouble.

Any new Life Coach clients of mine just need to ask for me, TAM, on arrival at Animal SOS, until I get my online presence perfected. Just avoid Tam’s lunchtam at 3 o’clock each day. A man needs to eat.

Tam’s on it! Never undermine the underdog!

See you all soon, don’t be shy, don’t walk by! Tam xx

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl

==================================================

Sick, Sad, Sorrowful Sonya Wants to do Great Things!

Name: Sonya

Reason I’m at Animal SOS: I was dumped at the Manager’s House by someone who didn’t like me and I was also sick. Deserted during my hour of need.

Favourite Food: It’s hard for me to compete with the other two for food just now, but the food we’re given — the rice, fish and vegetables — tastes nice.

Me in the corner as usual.

It feels like there’s so much overhang with me, that my life hasn’t really started. I’m miles behind a confident and amusing puppy called Tam here, in terms of aspirations and ambitions, but I guess I have reasons for this. I’ve only ever known sickness and suffering during my short life and I hope it doesn’t continue like this, otherwise I don’t see the point in carrying on.

Another dumpee at the Manager’s House, I was thrown over the wall, into another unknown land. I could barely breathe I was so terrified. What was going to be my fate? Sajjith, the nice man who makes our food and keeps us comfortable found me and then told Lesley I’d arrived. I was then put into a room, as new arrivals have to be kept away from others in case we have any diseases or infections.

They said I stared longingly and desperately at them, full of sadness in my eyes, and that they were so beautiful at the same time. I don’t have much self worth to believe this really. Puppies are supposed to be boisterous and full of beans, and I was none of that.

All the time I felt nauseous and would hide under the bed and keep away from people. I know other dogs around me generally were not keen on me, as I was seen as weak and therefore deemed useless, and this made me feel so sad and depressed. I even thought if there is a God why do they permit so much suffering? Young bodies like mine feel pain tenfold and it’s horrible. What did I do so wrong and where were my mum and dad?

In a cloud in my compound basket.

Then I stopped eating and drinking, which is very serious for any dog, especially a puppy. I think I was also being sick. I was tested several times for parvo disease among other things, as I was displaying many symptoms. This can be difficult to detect initially, and many tests proved negative. Animal SOS owner Kim gave Lesley lots of advice to help me. She made scrambled eggs for me but I just wasn’t interested in that or yogurt, whereas dogs normally lap this up.

Parvo is short for Canine Parvovirus and is spread by contact with faeces, and is one of the most deadliest viruses dogs can get. I was lucky to be treated at the sanctuary. Imagine what it must be like for dogs on the street suffering such a slow, painful death. Over 90% of dogs die if they don’t see a nice vet like I did. I am so sorry for them, and there’s 3 million street dogs in Sri Lanka. This breaks me thinking about their tough lives.

One evening I looked so frail and helpless, which upset Lesley greatly, so I stayed in her room, but it was a difficult night. I was sick and had terrible dark diarrhoea after barely even consuming anything. Eventually I was tested positive for parvo and taken to the clinic at the sanctuary, and kept in confinement as it’s a highly contagious disease. A parvo outbreak can wipe out the whole sanctuary, seemingly.

I looked distressed, tired, old and worn out, and someone said I had an adult’s head on a puppy’s body. All too much for one so young. It all knocked me for six to be honest. I was lucky to stay at General Manager Sam’s house for a few weeks, and she looked after me with her nice husband Nixon, making sure I was as comfortable as could be under the circumstances, and that my parvo didn’t spread to other dogs.

This involves rigorous hygiene practices such as disinfecting footwear with Virkon disinfectant before going into and out of my room, wearing gloves, cleaning the floor with a separate mop and bucket regularly, and washing hands properly. No other animal should enter a parvo room, and humans can’t catch it.

Kim also taught Lesley how to sanitise the Manager’s House, because once I left, there was still a risk of other dogs catching the virus, so the whole house had to be disinfected rigorously in every corner and crevice. What bother I caused!

Sam and Nixons’s house is located in the sanctuary, so they have around 2,500 canine neighbours! I did eventually recover thanks to their loving care. After staying with them it made me think how nice it would be to live in a lovely, secure home with a wonderful owner and friend to be my companion and vice verca. Probably that will remain a dream though.

Once I was better, it was time to face the music and be allocated a compound in the sanctuary. We start off in compounds before we’re released with the rest of the free roaming dogs, after we’re neutered and more acclimatised to the sanctuary environment. What a daunting thought for me. I was placed with what ended up as two boisterous puppies and instantly felt unhappy and sidelined. This just wasn’t going to be the place for me, but I had to try harder.

But how hard can you try though when you’re being bullied and are the last to reach the food when the others hog it. It’s like I feel there’s no place for me. There’s a pecking order in life. Those who shout the loudest, no matter what rubbish they say, and throw their weight around get what they want, no questions asked. The rest of us either have to wait patiently or suffer. I have a feeling I will be a lifelong loner and it’s hard for me to envision a rosy future.

Those are the bullies — just look at their faces, thick as thieves.

Recently, I was back in the clinic as I had a small lump on my forehead which was cancerous. How many more disasters can a young puppy contend with! They operated on me and took it out so it will not grow into something serious, which is a relief, I guess. I feel so much older than I actually am, to be honest.

On my slow journey to hopeful happiness or am I hopelessly hoping?

I love my name though! I’m the only Sonya at the sanctuary, and was named after Sonya Madan from a band called Echobelly. Lesley from Manager’s House loves her 90’s indie/alt rock bands, and there were other puppies named after her idols including: Neneh after Neneh Cherry, Nina in honour of Nina Gordon from Veruca Salt, Miki, the flame red-haired singer from Lush, Marijne who sang in Salad, and Polly and Jeannie due to her love of PJ Harvey.

Echobelly are still one of her favourite bands and are making great music even today. Sonya’s of Asian origin just like me. I’d love to be able to sing like her. She’s truly unique and distinctive with her staggeringly stunning vocals, which I also find soothing. One of their biggest hits was called ‘Great Things’. It’s such a hopeful, positive, sun shining catchy song, and cheers me up, believe it or not. It’s also about other things but I’m not sure what. I love guitarist Debbie’s backing vocals too, she’s so cool.

I hope to do great things one day, and not compromise, as the lyrics go. You can see Sonya singing in the video below from The White Room back in 1996 — a long time ago!

Echobelly on The White Room, 1996.

And look! This is a picture of Sonya nowadays with a dog she loves. You can see in her warm, sparkly eyes she’s a great person. I wish I could have a life like that charming alsation. People in Sri Lanka favour Alsations, Rottweilers, Dobermans and Labradors as pets, or guard dogs, which they often mistreat.

Sonya with a hardy and healthy looking Alsation.

Us street dogs are often seen as vermin or third class citizens exposed to so many disasters like road accidents, especially by buses which race along illegally with drivers not caring if they hit us. In fact I think those sick minds often do it on purpose hoping we die and maybe even compete with one another totalling how many dogs they’ve hit or murdered in a day. We’re not causing any harm. We’re just hungry as there’s no food source for us and we’re not wild animals that hunt. A street dog is always hungry and searching out food for themselves and often their families, if their puppies survive. It’s a really painful, difficult and often agonising life.

Therefore, we rely on the goodwill of nice humans who leave food out for us, usually rice and curry. They can’t afford to give us anything else, but it sure beats raking through bin bags for any scraps which is so demeaning and disgusting, and even then we’ve to hope it’s not laced with something deadly. We are so vulnerable and at the hands of good and evil. We must have cast iron stomachs or something. Saying that, the average life span of a street dog is seemingly only 3–4 years. That’s so sad.

And then there’s other people who poison us, throw boiling water over us, cut our tails and ears off, tie our legs up, stab us, shoot us, create lynchmobs against us, and dig open graves while we’re still alive. You name it, there’s no end to the cruelty imposed on us by some horrid humans. I’m much safer at the sanctuary.

Animal SOS has offered me a second life, and I’m trying to work out how to live it to the full one day. Tam’s a real funny puppy here who’s also had a hard time like the rest of us, but he’s maximising his negative experiences into something really positive, and says he’ll become a Life Coach. I think I may talk to him about how I can sharpen up and gain more self belief and gusto like him. He’s a gung-ho kind of guy which I envy, but he better not bully me!

A relaxed Tam looking regal on top of his robe and at ease with himself.

Actually, I just had a thought. One day I’d like to travel to other countries to see how other dogs live, and to do this I’ll need to go by boat. Since I feel older than my year, maybe I could be a Thera Pet on the cruise ship. I could help people afraid of the sea, or who may have problems, or may simply need a dog near them to stroke, which I hear can be really soothing and therapeutic. I think I have a lot of empathy and kindness to offer with a listening ear. Together we could kind of cheer the fear out of each other and help one another, but I will be the guiding light.

What an idea! I’ll see what Tam thinks. Having hope is really vital, I think, otherwise everything seems black, grey and pointless. I’m slowly learning and realising this. With the money I’d earn, I would give back to the sanctuary first and foremost, as they saved my life and have shown me love and kindness.

And who knows, maybe the cruise ship might take me to the land of my dreams, and a new owner will fall in love with me, offering a beautiful home full to the brim with loyalty, kindness and comfort. I would be their forever friend forever. Great things may or may not be ahead.

==========================================================

You can read more of my riveting friend’s adventures here: https://medium.com/@LesleyHaw7/close-to-the-bone-410c92499d3d

Did you know — all us sanctuary dogs are available for ADOPTION to excellent homes!

PLEASE see the small (paw) print below. I’d love if you can help my friends and me. General running costs are running low which worries us a lot, and we need extra compartments for our extra special disabled dogs. Please help us if you can. Thank you from the bottom of our hardened hearts xxx

A/C name Animal SOS Lanka (Pvt) Ltd (in Sri Lanka)

Paypal- donate@animalsos-sl.com,

Justgiving -https://www.justgiving.com/animalsos-sl.com

===============================================================

Lesley Haw7

Aberdeen/Scotland born Copy Editor/Journalista/Animal Adorer