Why Making Money on Medium is Harder Than You Think?

Don’t believe everything you read about making money on Medium.

Michael Wilkinson
5 min readNov 10, 2019
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

You know, I‘m sick of people telling me how much money they made on Medium last month or last week or whenever.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m trying to do the same thing. But it drives me crazy to read how someone made $100, $1000, or $10,000+ while I’m earning pennies.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m grateful for what I’ve earned. I’m aware some people are making a lot less than that. But, just like you, I’ve been following all the tips.

  1. It’s okay. About 93% of writers earn less than $100 a month (source).
  2. You’ve got to publish often (source).
  3. You’ve got to write headlines that rock (source).
  4. You’ve got to write for publications (source).
  5. You’ve got to tag other writers and comments (source).

Blah, blah blah. What the hell?

This is all good advice. You should be following this advice. But is it enough?

--

--

Michael Wilkinson

Author, blogger, father, and husband. I write about writing, life, and self-improvement.