Inevitable (Shakira)

Francisco Chibrás
3 min readJul 6, 2018

--

Dark

Did you know there was a time when Shakira had dark hair? Are you curious to know which kind of songs she used to sing at the time? The style will definitely surprise you.

Inevitable

If the point is to confess,

I don’t know how to prepare coffee

And I don’t understand football.

I think I have once been unfaithful

I play badly even parqués (board game)

and I never use a watch.

And to be honest,

no one thinks about you the way I do,

even though you don’t care.

If the point is to confess,

I never sleep before ten

nor do I take baths on sunday.

The truth is that I also cry once a month

even more when it’s cold

with me nothing is easy

you must already know

you know me well

and without you everything is boring.

The sky is tired now of seeing the rain falling

and each passing day looks the same.

I can’t find the way to forget you because

loving you is inevitable.

I’ve always know it is better,

that when two person need to talk,

start with yourself.

You know the situation,

everything here is worse

but at least I can still breathe.

You don’t have to say it,

you are not coming back,

I know you well,

(I’ll find what to do with myself eventually).

The sky is tired now of seeing the rain falling

and each passing day looks the same.

I can’t find the way to forget you because

loving you is inevitable.

I always knew it’s better

when two people need to talk,

to start with yourself.

Hello everyone and welcome to this entry of the Every Song is a Story series. Here we have the first woman to appear in this series, and it’s none other than Shakira.

Before her global fame, Shakira was a very famous singer across all of Latin America. While always being a commercial artists, some of her songs had really good lyrics (and you will see more of this in future entries) until she started to gear her music towards an American audience.

In this song, she is trying to be as honest as possible when talking with her formed boyfriend. They know each other very well, but you can’t know a person completely. She is sharing openly her thoughts and feelings in an attempt to get his former lover to consider coming back. She’s maybe even saying things she has never said before. Yet, as we can see by the verses “You don’t have to say it, you are not coming back, I know you well,” she knows it’s futile, but can you blame her for trying? Letting go of a relationship you didn’t want to end is very hard, there’s no shame in clinging to the past, if just a little.

Thanks everyone for joining me, and see you on Monday for one of my favorite songs! have a great weekend.

If you liked this, don’t forget to check out the previous entry, How it Hurts, and to follow me on twitter and medium so you don’t miss out on new articles.

--

--