Swimming In The Rain, Not Just A Workout But Also Therapeutic

DearJC
Finding Peace
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2023

Today was a great day. Super grateful for the beautiful rainy day today, especially when I was starting my daily routine at the swimming pool.

I have read online that the sound of rain is very therapeutic. It’s due to the repetitive sound of water that allows us to feel calm and at ease. The rhythmic sound patterns can help us manage anxiety and relieve stress.

I have always enjoyed swimming, especially in the rain. I love the feeling of rain on my head, back, arms, and legs; it almost feels like water therapy or massage. It brings me so much comfort and calmness.

Swimming is not just a fun sport but a wonderful way to stay in shape and make friends. Unlike many other sports, you may need other friends to play with, such as basketball, tennis, volleyball, etc.

I have always been introverted, so making friends, let alone finding friends to play sports with hasn't been easy. Especially after being a single mom with two kids, my life has been busy caring for the family. Of course, now the kids are much older and very self-sufficient, I can start to work on myself.

No more excuses to make me a better person.

Photo by Vicko Mozara on Unsplash

Swimming is a healthy activity where we can all participate, rain or shine, for a lifetime. I can go whenever I want, and the time flexibility is excellent. Because of swimming, I see a regular group of swimmers every day.

It’s a great feeling to go there in the morning, greet each other, and cheer each other on for showing up every day to take good care of our bodies and mind.

Most of them are retired folks, and it’s delightful to hear about their life stories, how they are continuing with their current season of life, and focusing on their health as their top priority.

As I am in my mid-forties, looking back at what I have been through, I know I have come a long way to healing and making peace with my past. Interacting with the elderly folks at the pool also shows me that life goes on no matter what happens in life.

It’s up to us to decide how we live each day. We can choose to live in resentment or live in gratitude.

When it started to rain, I thought I was the only person excited about the rain. To my surprise, all the other elderly folks smiled and said, “What a beautiful day it turned out to be.”

Thank you for being here. If you have enjoyed this story, please give me a clap or two, and I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you in advance for your support and encouragement.

Let’s find peace together.

Feel free to visit my home page at https://medium.com/@PeaceWithin

--

--

DearJC
Finding Peace

Aspiring Writer. Writing about personal growth, humanity, relationships and life.