Answering the job interview question: “Can you explain the gap in your employment history?”

Peervuu
4 min readJul 16, 2022

--

Photo courtesy of Pexels.com

Having a gap in your employment history makes most people insecure because they believe it makes them less qualified than others who don’t have a gap. The truth of the matter is that gaps happen and hiring managers are used to seeing them. There is an effective way to explain your gap, no matter the situation, that will make you confident and the gap irrelevant to the hiring manager. Let’s teach you how.

Variations of this question

“Explain your employment gap.” · “Explain your reasons for leaving your previous job?” · “What have you been doing during your employment gap?”

What the hiring manager is looking for

The hiring manager is only concerned about finding a person who can and will do the job well. A gap in employment, to a hiring manager, can suggest a lack of capability, experience or motivation. They are looking for a good reason for the gap and reassurance that you can and will do the job.

What your goal should be

Your goal should be to give a brief, unapologetic and confident reason for the gap in employment and to also show that the gap does not make you less reliable, experienced or capable to do the job. You want to bring the conversation back to why you are the best fit for the job.

Preparing for this question

The first thing to do as you prepare for this question is to work on communicating your reason for the gap succinctly. Here are some possible answers:

  • “I took time off to help a sick family member.”
  • “The company I worked for was downsizing and many were affected by lay-offs, including me.”
  • “I took time off to care for my young children.”
  • “I relocated and took some time to find a new job in a new city.”
  • “I decided to go back to school so I could focus on a career I am really passionate about and excellent at.”

Notice, you don’t have to go into detail about the gap reason. The most important part is that you quickly move to explain what you did during the gap. So, spend time listing out the different things you did while you were without employment. Hopefully, you spent your time researching companies, seeking different career opportunities, furthering your education, attaining professional training, or networking with professionals in your area.

Answer Structure

Your answer should be no longer than 2 minutes and cover the following pieces:

  1. Start by explaining the reason for your employment gap but in a positive and practical manner. Keep it brief and do not elaborate on the reason. Remember, the point is to get back to why you are the right fit for the job. Also, do not share anything negative about your reason or previous employers. This part of your answer should take no longer than 15 seconds.

    Example: “I really enjoyed working at my previous company, but unfortunately, the company restructured and my department was eliminated.”
  2. Next, share anything that you have done during the gap to keep your skills, knowledge and experience up to date and relevant. Spend about 30–45 seconds on this part.

    Example: “Since the company restructured, I have taken some time to sharpen the saw by taking some LinkedIn Learning classes and getting a couple of accounting certifications. I have also been networking with professionals in the area, trying to find a company with a great mission and culture that fits my own personal beliefs and ambitions, which is how I was introduced to this company. Benjamin, a friend from high school has told me how much he has enjoyed working here and believes I would be a good fit.”
  3. Last, reiterate that you are the best person for the job. Share how you have the right skills, experience, and passion to do an excellent job in the role and be a great fit for the company culture. This part of your answer should take 60–75 seconds.

    Example: “As I have read up on and learned more about this company, I would have to agree with Benjamin. I do feel like I would be a great fit. Your accounting firm is recognized as being the best in the region and I aspire to be the best. I not only graduated Magna Cum Laude but was also recognized as an outstanding contributor at my previous job 2 out of the three years I was there. You also specialize in tax accounting, which is my specialty. I have 6 years of experience doing tax accounting at three different firms and as mentioned, I just passed the two hardest certifications in the industry. Lastly, I keep hearing about your culture of working hard and playing harder, which is something I strongly believe in.”

Extra tips

  • Your interviewer will most likely want you to walk through your resume, so practice this task several times before your interview. Include your gap answer while practicing so that it flows naturally and you sound confident.
  • Try to avoid saying your employment gap happened for “personal reasons” because it makes you look like you are hiding something negative.
  • Don’t share personal medical information.
  • Do not share things that will make you sound lazy (played video games all day) even if you are joking. That is a quick way to miss out on a job.
  • Check out a related article: Answering the Job Interview Question: “Why are you looking for a new job?”

Thanks for reading the Peervuu blog!

Peervuu is a community of professionals dedicated to helping each other create and sustain amazing careers. On Peervuu.com, you can find a professional with the right role, industry, and experience ready to mentor you and answer all of your work and career questions.

BOOK A FREE MENTORING SESSION HERE!

Have experience you can share? Become a mentor on Peervuu to help others succeed in their career! You can mentor others for free or charge for your advice.

--

--

Peervuu

Get answers to all your work and career questions from professionals working at the biggest companies. https://peervuu.com/