The AI Dilemma, a Writer’s Perspective

The Novice Freelancer
5 min readJun 21, 2023

An essay where I reflect and ponder my worth as a writer

“You’re going to get replaced” my colleague chuckled during a conversation on ChatGPT. I smiled and confidently told him that I’d incorporated my trusty companion into my workflow and that I still had a place because “who do you think is writing and perfecting these prompts that generate the end product?”.

But deep down, I feared the inevitable. Will AI get so good that it replaces us writers?(Yes it can, with some effort on your part, check out this piece by Thomas Smith)

I’ve brushed off having this conversation because while these bots have actually made our lives much easier, they’re also making us worse writers. As a self-proclaimed wordsmith caught in the crossfire of technological advancement, it’s a peculiar mix of emotions.

Sure, AI is a virtual counterpart who never sleeps, complains about writer’s block, or takes too long to decide on a clickbait title. It improves our output and helps us meet deadlines, and it seems like everyone wins.

But, having nearly perfected my prompt generation I can generate an output that is almost acceptable and ready to go live by my personal standards. This forebodes a future where our skills are gradually dulled and we turn into mere supervisors of algorithms, rather than creators of captivating prose.

I used to spend more time thinking of an intro to hook my readers, hours were spent pondering on what the best way to present an idea in my head was and examples were researched to bolster my point. I would consider the format, think of what was important, and where certain ideas would go, now with a few short prompts, my draft is out, lickety-split. All I have to do now is play editor.

Imposter syndrome

The seeds of imposter syndrome start to sprout; sure my prompt game was good- I mean, it got a bot to imitate my style, but what happens when I can no longer tell if the writing is my own?

We question our worth as writers, fearing that we’ve become dependent on artificial intelligence to produce our best work. We wonder if our words are truly ours or if they are just a clever amalgamation of data and algorithms.

There is, however, a small solace in knowing that the playing field may not be as level as it seems. Not all AI-generated content is created equal, and we hold on to the hope that our uniquely human touch can still shine through amidst the machine-produced noise.

Can I really write?

We don’t all possess the same AI wizardry and are unlikely to prompt and produce content at an equivalent level, even with similar constraints. It no longer becomes a matter of skill, but a matter of access and mastery of these powerful tools. How then do we judge good writers from the rest? Are we clinging to a skillset that is rapidly approaching obsolescence?

Double standards and hypocrisy

As someone who embraces AI and would label myself as a writer- the question of whether I can count myself as a writer resurfaces from time to time. Because I write for myself and do not have a wide audience, I am in a low-profile grey zone. I can oscillate between concerns about AI and at the same time, accept that it’s a part of my writing process. I have the luxury of backtracking my opinions without inviting the wrath of my audiences. I’m not bound by rigid expectations, and I can explore the AI dilemma without being labeled as a hypocrite.

So, how do we navigate this conundrum? Well, there are two paths we can take.

  1. The first is to believe that greatness is achieved by pushing beyond what others consider “good enough.” In this case, it would mean doubling down on writing well- without relying on AI, even if it seems like an unnecessary skill in a world increasingly dominated by artificial intelligence.
  2. The second path involves embracing AI’s potential while focusing on improving our output in a distinct and identifiable way.

By doing so, we can create a blueprint for success and share it widely to establish our credentials. But, you also run the risk of having people adopt your work without giving you credit because hey, you cannot trademark an opinion. This route requires us to constantly adapt to evolving technologies and stay ahead of the AI curve, but it also ensures our employability just a teeny bit more in a world where AI reigns supreme.

Both paths have their merits. The former offers a sense of personal accomplishment and the satisfaction of defying the odds, while the latter presents an opportunity to shape the future of writing.

As writers, we find ourselves at a unique crossroads. The AI dilemma pulls us in conflicting directions, but it also presents us with an opportunity for growth and self-reflection. It’s a chance to redefine our craft, to reclaim our creative voice amidst the sea of algorithms. While the journey may be challenging, it is not without its rewards.

In this precarious dance with AI, we can choose to view it as a tool that enhances our abilities rather than one that diminishes our worth. We can harness its power while keeping our creative instincts intact. It’s not about abandoning technology altogether but finding the harmony between our own unique style and the benefits that AI can bring to our work.

Yes, AI can generate content faster and more efficiently than we ever could, but it cannot replicate our creativity, our wit, and our ability to connect with readers on a deeply human level, not yet at least.

Our value lies in the subtle nuances.

I still want to label myself as a writer. But how can I call myself one if the words are not entirely my own? Perhaps there will be a new title or a new definition in due time, but for now, our best bet is to explore the uncharted territories and reaffirm our place as the storytellers of the digital age. We’re already bombarded with so much content that original thoughts belong to whoever said it first and created the most impact.

I believe that we can learn to wield AI tools as extensions of our own abilities, enhancing our craftsmanship rather than overshadowing it. It’s a chance to push the boundaries of what we can accomplish as writers, leveraging technology as a collaborator rather than a replacement, but it does not mean we stop trying to express ourselves in the best way we know how.

Till next time,
Nimble ✏️

About

The Nimble Novice is a passion project where I document my learnings about everything and anything. I am a content strategist/ designer, writer and lifelong learner. I have many interests, but I mostly write about freelancing, productivity, digital marketing, crypto/blockchain and occasionally, pop culture.

Linkedin | Twitter | Work with me | Lemon8

--

--