Masculine Men Are More Likely to be Violent, Right?

The Tactical Victim
2 min readNov 3, 2023

--

(Still writing and drafting)

As a male domestic violence victim, I want to make it clear, I think violence against women, is just as bad. Yes, there are some unique challenges I face as a man. And, this blog highlights some of that.

My Goal
However, I want you to be safe, regardless of your gender, gender identification, political views, background, sexual preferences and so on.

“Research on gender roles suggests that men who strongly adhere to traditional masculine gender norms are at increased risk for the perpetration of violent and abusive acts toward their female intimate partners.”

However:
(some of the men [and women] that were violent towards me, were due to me rejecting them)

Yet, gender norms alone fail to provide a comprehensive explanation of the multifaceted construct of intimate partner violence (IPV) and there is theoretical reason to suspect that men who fail to conform to masculine roles may equally be at risk for IPV.

Article:
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5868426/

I also don’t know what it’s like to be a woman.

(role of individualism)

The Importance of Perception

The

Indeed, there is reason to suspect that men at the opposite end of the gender role conformity continuum may be likely to engage in aggressive and violent behavior in certain contexts.

Related Articles

Follow me and or Subscribe to My Email List, if you want to stay up to date for my latest: Security, Psychological and Tactical tips..

Thank you all for your support :)

--

--

The Tactical Victim

Male DV, SA and Stalking Survivor 🔒 Acting as Your "Blue Team" AI Expert to help you: Assess the Risk, Escape-Survive and Remain Unfound. Cleared Professional