Out of Ideas, Out of Time: Chapter 5

A Collaborative Story

Terrye Turpin
Out of Ideas, Out of Time
3 min readOct 26, 2019

--

Photo by Terrye Turpin

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

I took the notebook and hustled down to my favorite coffee shop so I could leach off their internet and do some snooping. I’d asked Carl for his Wi-Fi password back at the Coney stand, but he told me “I got it turned off, I’m on the Media Deprivation week of The Artist’s Way.” Jesus, everybody wants to be a writer these days. I might as well try my hand at it, once this case is solved.

After I picked up my double espresso at the counter I settled in with the notebook. The patio at the coffee shop was almost empty. I picked a spot I thought would offer the most privacy — furthest from the door, near the road and the parade of cars trailing by. A sour looking fellow sipping a latte parked himself at the next table. Shielding the pages with my hand, I opened the book.

I don’t know what to write I don’t know what to write I don’t know what to write.

Those words tumbled around in my head like loose coins in a laundromat dryer. I checked off what I knew about his Karen Fayeth dame. She liked chili-dogs and Stephen King, and from her picture I could see she had nice hair. Not much to go on, but up until four days ago she’d…

--

--