Where you(th) lead, we’ll follow! The 2015 UNICEF New Zealand Youth Ambassadors strike a pose at our offices in Wellington.

Meet the youth on a mission to help children (part one of two)

UNICEF New Zealand
5 min readMar 4, 2015

A new year means new opportunity and a brand new crop of UNICEF New Zealand Youth Ambassadors. We think it’s time you met them.

The team represent young people in communities spread about the country. From the far-flung regions of the north (Auckland, Hamilton) to the deepest provinces of the south (Mid-Canterbury) and every place in between (Wellington, Taumaranui, Feilding).

The common purpose that unites them? A shared desire to make a difference for children.

In the first of two parts, we profile five members of this exciting new team. The profiles of the six remaining members can be read here.

Our Youth Ambassadors identified this iconic image from Barack Obama’s 2008 Presidential campaign as a motif that spoke to them. Each young person then chose a word to be included alongside their portrait in a pastiche of this style. What follows are their own words:

Vincent Nguyen

Le Hung Nguyen (aka Vincent), 18, Auckland

Persistence: noun. Believe in all that you do, focus your heart and mind to achieve your goals.

Greetings! My name is Le Hung Nguyen, but you can call me Vincent. I originally hail from a small town in Vietnam known as My Tho. It was only last year that I came to New Zealand, but immediately I fell in love with this country for its natural beauty and friendly people.

Fundraising for UNICEF NZ has become one of my main activities and has helped me understand the role the organisation plays in improving children’s lives.

To live and study in New Zealand is a precious opportunity for me since it allows me the chance to engross myself in volunteer work and develop social skills in settings outside of school.

As part of the UNICEF NZ Youth Ambassadors team, I hope to contribute my passion and enthusiasm to build a better future for the world’s children.

Vincent has become one of our most committed community fundraisers. Last year he formed a UNICEF club at Auckland International College. So far Vincent and co have raised almost $4000. Persistence indeed!

Jennifer Wright

Jennifer Wright, 18, Auckland

People: noun. When we work together goals that we can’t achieve alone can be realised.

Hello! My name is Jennnifer Wright. I’m 18 years old and recently graduated from high school. In September, I head to New York University, where I’ll major in economics with a minor in business.

Follow your heart, but take your brain with you.

I’m very excited about my role this year as a UNICEF NZ Youth Ambassador because it is an excellent opportunity to make a tangible difference for young people both inside and outside of New Zealand.

Follow Jennifer on Instagram.

Last year Jennifer organised the Unite for UNICEF dinner to help children affected by poverty worldwide. Speakers at the event included former Labour Leader David Shearer, with more than $3600 raised for children.

Sonny Ngatai

Sonny Ngatai, 18, Feilding

Service: noun. The road to self-improvement lies in committing ourselves to helping others.

Mauria mai o koutou pare kawakawa. Ka tau ki kāpunipuni o whakapaurangi, o whakaotirangi. E au heke te au, e rere te hau. Koia e heke nei te tangata ki te pō, tū tonu mai koutou hei au huri waka nui.

Tena koutou katoa my name is Sonny Ngatai and I’m an 18-year-old student, who is bi-cultural and bi-lingual. I believe that culture is an important part of one’s identity. I am passionate about promoting the importance of knowing culture to everyone, but particularly the Māori community.

My message is that we all need a sense of identity.

It is my belief that globalisation is causing culture to slowly fade away. My main focus is how we live culturally and actively participate as citizens of the world.

That’s why I am a loyal supporter of UNICEF. It is neutral and gives both perspectives, but it also gives voice to issues that are important to me.

Follow Sonny on Twitter.

Sonny brought his multimedia talent to the fore multiple times last year, including this video to mark Māori Language Week last July.

Nadya Fauzia

Nadya Fauzia, 18, Auckland

Honesty: noun. It is the root to good communication between one another in order to make an impact.

Hi! My name is Nadya Fauzia, I’m 18 years old and in my first year studying law and commerce at the University of Auckland.

I’m interested in economics — in particular how decisions made by government affect those who are most vulnerable, such as children.

I love to collaborate with young people on ideas that make a positive difference; this role encapsulates just that. This is my second year as a Youth Ambassador and I look forward to working closely with UNICEF NZ again.

Follow Nadya on Twitter.

Nadya wrote beautifully about the Bring Back Our Girls social media campaign, which erupted following the abduction of more than 200 girls in Nigeria last May.

Rayden Horton

Rayden Horton, 18, Taumaranui

Identity: noun. Our identity is what defines us as individuals, respecting and acknowledging this will allow us to move forward as people.

Kia ora koutou! Nō Taumarunui ahau. Ko Rayden Horton tōku ingoa. I was born and raised in Taumarunui and am very proud to be of Māori, English, Irish and Scottish decent.

In my life I have seen a lot of poverty within my family, within my community and around the country. For too long many of our tamariki have lived below the poverty line, and I believe this needs to change.

I hope one day to be the Minister of Social Development and Education in order to make changes that ensure the well being of our children.

I’m inspired to do something about this and UNICEF NZ has given me the impetus to start. My most passionate interests include education, health and social policy.

I look forward to working with UNICEF NZ and others to ensure the protection and well being of our tamariki. Mauri Ora!

Rayden, alongside Sonny Ngatai, starred in our video, directed by fellow Youth Ambassador Ripeka Reiri, to mark Children’s Day for 2015.

What have you(th) done for me lately? Like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter to find out.

Photos and words by Ethan Donnell with animated GIFs by Shelley Knowles

--

--

UNICEF New Zealand

UNICEF saves and transforms the lives of children across the globe. Join us and support our work for children.