Finding Your Identity

Vincent Apunike
4 min readSep 21, 2021

--

Identity means person’s individuality. Selfhood. Things that separate you from another. The superb uniqueness that makes you, you. The admirable qualities that make sure one cannot confuse A as B or tend to replace or substitute as mere objects or statistics. Basically, name, age, place of origin, and other information serve as identity too. But most times when I see the word Identity my mind thinks communal. A group of people. A class of scholars. Colleagues. Etc. Maybe this is because of how the society tends to classify us or how usually the next question after "What’s your name?" is about what one does, location, or proddings related to status. Within this community or easy classifications there is also another level of identity. Okay, you’re among us but who are you? When it comes to identity the discrepancy between who we are to ourselves and what others say we are can distort. There is think also you know when you talk about who we think we are and what others think we are. It is not straightforward because for the sake of balance it might make sense for these two understandings to be compatible but human beings—you and I are something else. Straight out the box and for different circumstances we can present a different side. And even when you know who you are there is a slight hesitation in proving to someone else maybe because you don’t see the point or out of neglect or considerable collaterals.

What about identity when we don’t know who we are or don’t like who we are or use so many personalities that keeping count becomes a problem? Oh, I guess there is a term for it—identity crises. To some an extent I have suffered from it. Not so much so that I lost touch with the basics because first thing first is to usually draw a line somewhere so no matter how jaded stuff becomes there remains certain templates, but yes in trying to present different fronts I have encountered stress. The way I looked at it, there was no pretense just a certain categorization. Till now I don’t know if it is right or wrong but for some decisions back then it was mainly to cushion myself or make it easier for the particular people I dealt with to understand a bit. I haven’t scratched the surface of exploration and oh boy. But I have been about. I have encountered and experienced a couple of things just like everyone has a story to tell but hey maybe more than the average not because I am better but because I love adventure. One of the things I realized is how some like to put us in a box. If you had encountered me maybe in elementary school or the secondary and still actively use same descriptions and expectations then you might be neglecting my growth. This is not to say I change everyday but you know. So in the face of things like that and since I tend to really push it to the limits it is hard to reconcile all my efforts or present it tangibly all the time. There are some intelligence or knowledge that excludes another although below the surface it’s probably same hamburger. In order not to disappoint I section for certain circumstances. You gotta read about sides we show to understand. I wouldn’t say it’s all that fun but it sure works in order not to confuse anybody. Many times people I met in certain backgrounds have directly or indirectly told me not to behave a certain way, reminding me of a certain time while not recognizing times and circumstances change. So I tried to separate a bit, reserving the whole for myself and those dearest to me.

Finding your identity. The concept I dealt with in the before paragraph is internal. There are potent crises from the external. The type that knocks you around whether you know who you are or not. This presents itself as challenges in life something everyone deals with. Knowing oneself helps here. As I said drawing a line and setting standards becomes advantageous. My biggest issue with identity had never been knowing or questioning who I am or what am capable of. It has always been the presentation. The obstacles to it are real so I had to adapt. And when I got overwhelmed, removing what is not needful, detaching myself from some things, and applying needful concentration to the core helped me. Identity? Define yours.

Recreating one’s identity or self. The will to try must be present and strong. It is possible to recreate if we want to. We can improve and be better. We can prove them wrong or do it for ourselves. I want this so much on so many levels. To be better than I am right now and was, a journey I am relentlessly positive about. Also, there are no permanent whatever in the sense you must accept that identity or script purported for you without your consent. You are free to change or redefine if you want to and you can.

--

--