Health and Wellness. IntrovertWorld

I Don’t Want to be A Misanthrope Anymore

Wambui Njuguna
3 min readSep 6, 2022

I spent most of my life on autopilot.

My preference to be alone most of the time did not help. I had an unhealthy social life that affected various aspects of my life.

As an introvert, I struggled to form relationships with people and had a hard time maintaining the ones I had. This often resulted in feeling no need to keep trying, and eventually living like a hermit.

It felt right because I didn’t have to struggle with what I wasn’t already good at. In hindsight, I was afraid of bruising my ego. I was afraid of failing and rejection.

Detachment from my environment and the people around me cost me years of a fulfilling life. It felt great back then being self-sufficient, not needing anyone, and more importantly, not needing much to live.

Human beings are not meant to live like that. We are meant to be social beings.

Photo by Ben Duchac on Unsplash

Detachment attracts misery.

Everything that happens every day of our lives does not happen solely due to personal effort.

You get good grades, somebody taught you what you know, and possibly a classmate helped you out when you needed something. You make good money, someone found your content valuable and you earned from that.

Years ago, I didn’t understand that. I knew the more I pushed the world away, the more fulfilling my life would be, a self-sufficient, don’t need anybody to be happy life.

While I had good intentions towards myself, I was doing the worst thing I could have done for my development. The truth is, being a loner does not make you an expert at developing yourself.

We develop through learning, we learn through experiences, and experiences are often a two-way participation.

You are learning what works for you as a content creator by looking at stats, the stats are there because somebody interacted with your content. Your experience needed other people to be complete.

By disconnecting myself from people, I also became detached from most activities because other people had to be present for them to be complete.

I never realized I’d be interested in physical fitness activities because I’d have to interact with people in the field. I would have never known I’d make a good writer online because I’d have to receive feedback from people.

No matter what I told myself, I would have never been able to make money and live off as a hermit, because I needed people to sell to. If I couldn’t build relationships, get them to trust, and reach out to them to see what I was selling, barely telling them ‘hey I’m good at this you’ve got to buy this or hire me’ wouldn’t sell.

I am happy to have realized that sooner and to have wasted no time in building quality relationships online and offline.

More importantly, by opening up to the universe, I got to learn who I am.

I know what I am capable of, what I offer to people, and who I can be for them, and with that what gives meaning to my life every sunrise. That is the start of a fulfilling life for me.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/