3 words for 2017

Abhi Rele
2 min readJan 1, 2017

--

A new year has started with the same old conundrum — what to continue, start, and stop doing?

For the past few years, I’ve used the 3 words framework (Chris Brogan who came up with this idea) to broadly guide me throughout the year. This isn’t a detailed “to do list” that you’re likely to forget as soon as the new year loses its “new year shine”. Instead, these are words that mean something to you, are easy to remember, and remind you how you want to live.

But first, a look back at 2016.

2016 – a year of many firsts

My 3 words for 2016 were Family, Excite, and Ask. In 2016, Family continued to be a solid #1 priority. Clay Christensen’s “How will you measure your life” has helped me tremendously in setting and keeping my priorities in focus.

Combined with Family, Excite and Ask led to a year of many firsts – possibly the first time in my life I’ve tried my hand at so many new things – and hopefully the first among many more years full of firsts. For example, first time reading 28 books in a year, first family campout, first time as a Scouting Cubmaster, first time feeling comfortable at skiing past the intro classes, and many more.

Which brings me to 2017…

3 words for 2017

My 3 words for 2017 are similar to 2016 (with a few tweaks to the meaning)

  1. Family: is about spending quality time with family and friends; being more healthy. Doing it everyday. No ifs, buts, or excuses
  2. Excite: is about doing things that excite me. Its giving myself the freedom to follow my curiosity; to learn and explore without worrying about future outcomes and trusting that it will all add up at some future point. It’s also about living in the moment, and feeling happy by doing what engages my mind and my heart.
  3. Ask: is about asking more questions, and assuming less; being more vulnerable; living without fear, and discovering new roads.

If you need help figuring out your 3 words, read “How will you measure your life” Clayton Christensen, or “The Four Hour Work Week” by Tim Ferriss.

Note: The 3 words is a framework to guide your year. To make sure you implement your plans, I’d suggest you use something like 12in12 to make your resolutions stick (or watch this TED video from Matt Cutts about trying something new for 30 days)

What are your 3 words for 2017? Have a rocking 2017!

“The cowards never started and the weak died along the way. That leaves just us” – Phil Knight, founder, former CEO, and Chairman, Nike Inc (from Shoe Dog)

--

--

Abhi Rele

Internet of Things | Big Data Predictive Analytics | Commerce