Community Highlight #8, Jorge

Once in a while, the spotlight is put on one active member of the Alephium community. This is an opportunity to showcase community members’ contributions to the ecosystem, what drives them, and what they are passionate about! More episodes: #1 here, #2 here, #3 here, #4 here, #5 here , #6 here, and #7 here.

Alephium
3 min readApr 19, 2023

In this edition, we introduce you to Jorge. He got into Alephium’s community early this year and naturally blended in. Started to look for ways to help, always willing to provide answers in Discord and Telegram. He also translated the Desktop Wallet into Portuguese and Spanish, and likes to spend his time mostly on the trading channel. You can find him on Twitter: @J_A_B_C_zzz

What can we call you, and where should we picture you?

You can call me Jorge, and I come from Portugal

How did you find out about Alephium?

I became aware of Alephium when having dinner with one of the core contributors, who is a very good friend of mine. We usually have a few beers and dinner to catch up, but this time all the talk was about alephium. The next day I read the WP and a few days later started to buy.

What excites you about Alephium?

I’ve never been a very technical guy, but I have been around since 2017. I have seen many projects fail, and with time I understood that one of the most important perks for a project to succeed is a charismatic leader and a good tech which is different from what we have. In my simpleton mind, what attracts me about Alephium is the POLW (which sounds nice and brings deflation to the token supply in a couple of years), the coding language that seems (since I’m not a dev) very dev friendly and easier to code with and finally the TPS that Alephium can achieve. In other terms, it’s like cutting the bad parts from BTC, ETH, and, let’s say, SOL, blending it in a mixer, and you have Alephium.

What excites you about the future of Alephium?

There are a couple of things I’m looking forward to. Getting more developers and, therefore, more projects to build Dapps (L2’s and L3's), major CEX listings, and seeing more additions to the ALPH team, with knowledgeable and skillful people that have navigated this space before.

How do you contribute to the Alephium ecosystem?

Apart from talking in the telegram groups with the ALPH family, I helped by translating the wallet into Portuguese and Spanish. I also try to share Alephium with my close friends and family, which I’ve rarely done in my life. I truly believe in this project and the team.

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

I enjoy playing soccer, ping pong, or go-karting with my friends. Also, I like to research about new crypto projects and read about the economy and financial markets. Traveling is also a big hobby of mine, nothing like learning about new cultures and sightseeing!

This concludes #8 of the community highlights. Thank you Jorge for taking part in the Alephium journey and helping your peers find their way into the specifics of the project.

We’ll be back with another episode of the community highlights in May 2023! Meanwhile, you can follow Alephium on GitHub and Twitter. Join the conversation on Discord, Telegram, or Reddit.

--

--

Alephium

Scalable for devs. Secure for users. Decentralized for all.