I Studied Programming And English. Weeks 6, 7 Report.

Alex Kivaiko
2 min readJan 14, 2023

--

The efficiency of the weeks before and after the new year was weak. I would even say it was the worst of all time. But this is not surprising, because there were holidays. I did not want to study at all, and, in theory, I could have had an “official” holiday and done nothing. But I know from my past experience that the longer the break, the harder it is to get back into the regime. Therefore, no matter how lazy it was, still forced myself to do something.

I am sure that this “rest” did me good. I had more free time to procrastinate. I may not have done any serious focused work, yet my mind and thoughts were occupied with reflections. What skills have I learned so far, have I consolidated them enough, and what should I do next?

The results of these two weeks are the results of my first two courses at Stepik:
- WEB Parsing in Python.
- Practical course for beginners in SQL and PostgreSQL.

Skills from them will be very useful for future projects and improvement of my Flash cards making assistant for Anki. Btw both courses are nice and cheap. Once again I see that cheap courses often more useful than the pricy ones.

As for learning English, that’s nothing new. I went on learning words in Anki, reading Medium, studying grammar and writing. The only thing is that I watched some blogger who recommended translating the lyrics of songs, so I tried it out. I realized I’m not ready for that yet, because the speech they use is really complicated. It’s obviously not for beginners.

--

--

Alex Kivaiko

📚 I study programming and English ⏱️Track study hours 📈Post progress weekly