Transitional Moment

Allison Washington
1 min readJul 12, 2016

--

A singer I was working with said something interesting.

When I showed up at the studio (this was in 1988) dressed nicely and wearing full makeup, she said,

‘It’s good to see you really being you.’

I was pleasantly surprised.

‘So, you already knew I was a woman?’

‘Yes, I think so.’

She reminded me of the time we first met, a year or so earlier at a show I was doing. In my mind, at the time, I didn’t really think I was ‘presenting female’. But then again, there were the dangly earrings and bangles, the long permed red hair, the makeup, heels…I’m not sure what else I thought I was ‘presenting’…in the lead-up to full realisation we sometimes do weird things, just trying to feel OK in ourselves.

‘I thought you were a woman then, when I first saw you. I guess I never really changed my mind about that.’

This is #2 in the Transitional Moments series.
#1:
Livename, #3: Another Transitional Moment

I make a spare living doing this. You can support my work and get draft previews and my frequent ‘Letters Home’ for less than the cost of a coffee.

--

--