Übergangsmoment

Allison Washington
2 min readNov 5, 2016

--

We were at the railway station in Frankfurt, on our way to visit friends of my mother, in Heidelberg. We were standing in the queue at the ticket counter, and I needed to pee.

At twelve years of age, hormonal changes were beginning. I was aware of my body, in a certain way, for the first time, and it was confusing. Though assigned male, I had lived much of my childhood in a kind of ambiguously-female role and appearance, slipping under the gender radar, seen by myself and others as a girl. Even my hormones were confused: I had developed breast-buds and was ‘showing’. Even small breasts could be awkward, and I was inclined to wear bulky pullovers.*

What had been simple was becoming more complicated.

At the toilets, I had to make the choice. After years of girlhood, my mother had been urging, with increasing concern, that I should stop using the women’s. Swallowing hard, I reached for a door.

I was grabbed by the arm and yanked back, hard. A guard in a frightening uniform had hold of me.

‘Das ist für Herren!’

I was thrust toward the other door. I wanted to protest, and I didn’t. I was confused and embarrassed and outraged and affirmed and relieved. I was mute.

I would be mute for a long time.

* Precocious gynaecomastia; the usually temporary development of breast buds and sometimes breast tissue in pubescent boys. http://pedsinreview.aappublications.org/content/28/9/e57

This aspect of my girlhood is covered in more detail in part II of my Girl series.

This is #4 in the Transitional Moments series.
#1:
Livename,#3: Another Transitional Moment, #5: Clocked (in the best possible way)

I make a spare living doing this. You can support my work and get draft previews and my frequent ‘Letters Home’ for less than the cost of a coffee.

--

--