Do Not Forget Health While Busy Earning Money

Aman
3 min readFeb 10, 2022

--

The lockdown was imposed in India at the end of march 2020. I was lucky to reach home safely few days before lockdown. I never had much opportunity to stay at home for a long time since I left for graduation in 2008 but lockdown gave that. I would only come for 1–2 days in my hometown generally.

Photo by Gary Butterfield on Unsplash

There were lots of dietary changes at home from what I used to eat at my work city. I loved my mother’s cooked dishes 😍, so I mostly ate more at home next to the luxury of eating snacks or fruit when I felt like it.

It was the month of January 2021. I had been working from my home almost one year. I was coming back from my sister’s home and I suddenly got a pain in my lower abdomen. It was the first time I had this pain. My family called up a local Doctor. After checking me he told me it could be due to stone and he was correct. I had three stones of 5 mm, 2 in right kidney and 1 in left one.

photo by Adrian Swancar on unsplash

So another doctor I visited gave me a pain killer which got me rid of pain and I was feeling ok at late night.

I used to go to the gym at least 3–4 days a week while working in work city, but I did nothing while working from home. My workplace was also couple of kilometers away from my rental apartment so It would make me to keep moving a bit. I was quite confident of my health, but having stones in my body really shocked me. I immediately started realizing the importance of health. While working from home, I was happy to see how expenses were reduced and money was being saved. A stone problem made me realize that nothing is more important than health. You can not get rid of stones with money without suffering the pain. You cannot enjoy anything if you are not well.

I made myself promise that I have to restart my exercise 🏃. I started walking 1–2 km for starter. After a couple of days I started running for some distance which I gradually increased. I was worried my stone may cause some trouble, but it did not. I kept on running and increased my daily water intake. I took medicine for a couple of days.

Photo by Jenny Hill on Unsplash

Running gave me confidence that all is well with my body. I got my body scanned and Doctor did not locate any stone.

It’s Jan 2022 now. I am still not sure if I still have kidney stones but I still go running in the evening. It gives me confidence that if the stones were there they would have caused me pain while running. I feel I am well now.

Conclusion: We are so consumed in earning the money that we forget our body. I hear my friends how they are changing their companies for better salary and future. As you grow older health becomes more important than money. If you don’t take care of your health, your body will give you a nasty surprise while you are busy dreaming about the money. I believe there is not any shortcut to have good health. Workout/Exercise is the only way to keep good health. Let’s do some exercise daily to keep good health. They said it’s true “Health Is Wealth”.

If you feel any stress you can watch few good movies. They will definitely cheer you up. I have created a blog (“https://medium.com/@aman09/movies-which-you-make-you-happy-part-1-9791bf4a6c8b") mentioning few good movies which make me feel good. You can check out.

--

--

Aman

I am 30 year old male. I works as Android Developer. I love learning programming , watching Hollywood movies, Travelling and I am not a Writer :)