An Unexpected Source Of Motivation

Anastasiya Mozgovaya
3 min readAug 27, 2016

--

We keep on looking for motivation these days, right? There is a long list of those, who could be called as a source of it. For example, I personally name all books by Malcolm Gladwell and Unmistakable Creative podcast (by Srinivas Rao) as two essentials in this category. However, I think there is something I will add to my top list now, and it is definitely quite an unexpected choice. I am talking about Vincent Van Gogh`s letters to his brother Theo.

For me, dealing with my personal struggles is so much easier when I keep on reminding myself how much every significant person has had to cope with. That is why I am fond of personal essays and autobiographies, but even more so of diaries and letters. When I saw Van Gogh`s letters edition last year, I bought it right away. How fascinating it would be to find out his thoughts, his feelings throughout his life, — I thought. And let me tell you, his letters are even more outstanding than I thought.

This man was an incredible thinker, a true philosopher, a real life artist (not that we needed a proof of it after seeing his paintings, but still). I was amazed by the way he saw the world, by his attitude, by his ideas. He was an incredible human being, and I am hurt because I know he spent his life in misery and poverty, not just doubting himself and being doubted by everyone around him, but also not finding those who would appreciate his art. Centuries later, there is a huge Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam and his paintings are in the best museums all over the world (including my favourite one, Orsay in Paris), but as he lived he had to do it in the most awful conditions and eat bread only most of the time.

We adore and admire him today, and by reading this letters you can get an insight of what it was like to be him, what it was like to create his spectacular legacy and find strength and motivation from within. He got nothing in response from the outter world in his life, nothing! However, he kept on going, he kept on pushing himself and he kept on working really-really hard. He has been dead for a long time now, but his art is alive and it makes me more alive too. I am so happy he has written those letters and has shared his real thoughts. I am so happy I have an opportunity today to read and re-read them.

This is my chance (and yours) to get a little bit closer to a genuis, who started painting at the age of 27 and comitted suicide 10 years later at 37. In just a decade he has created about 2100 works. Can you imagine? He made his way from not knowing how to paint to creating masterpieces in just 10 years. This is incredible, this is the truth. And yes, he lost is mind, he could not keep on living that way, so he worked even harder in the last months of his life and then he left this harsh world.

Finally, I am not saying that poverty, misery, illness and suicide must inspire and motivate you; naturally, each and one of us hopes for a very different path, but why don`t you just read those letters, point out the best ideas and then keep them in mind as a source of inner strength? Try it! This is exactly what I am doing these days.

P.S. 1 You can actually read all of Van Gogh`s letters here.

P.S. 2 If you have a strong desire to look at Van Gogh`s paintings now, you can do it here.

I am sincerely amazed and forever grateful for the work people have been doing in order to give access to such treasures to each and one of us online.

P.S. 3 His brother Theo, who has supported him throughout his 10 years of creative work both emotionally and financially, died 6 months later after Vincent`s death. What a connection!

--

--