Improving meditation with diet-Part 1

Andrey Chernyshev
2 min readFeb 16, 2018

--

For me, dullness and drowsiness (this condition is also known as brain fog or cloud consciousness) wasn’t the issue until I started to meditate. When your mind is restless, with lot’s of thoughts, there is plenty energy for the mind to be excited. But when the mind becomes still, the dullness quickly come. In my case, it brings various hypnogogic images, which arise spontaneously, out of control. It significantly slower the further development.

There are lot’s of reasons which can cause brain fog. For months I couldn’t find the solution. Caffeine, physical exercises and various mental tricks didn’t help in the long run.

But recently I came across the book “Personalised Diet”, based on this research. Shortly speaking, the idea is that your blood’s sugar level after eating is the common marker of how this particular food is ok or not for you. This is your personal response, which depends on your gut microbiota, the activity of your pancreas etc.

You buy glucometer than start to eat everything possible, measuring the sugar level at 30, 60,90 and 120 min after the meal and gathering statistics.

If the food causes the significant sugar spike, it considers “bad”. If sugar release is smooth, it is ok.

After about 10 days of experimenting, I’ve found that for me:

-fat-free milk is not so good as it was supposed to be
-some fruits and some foods even in small amounts cause huge and fast-growing spikes
-serving size means a lot
-sugar spike higher than the certain level cause me to feel sleepy and drowsy

It was a bit boring to take at least 4 measures for a meal, but finally, after about 2 weeks of avoiding “bad” food:

-I feel more energized
-Dullness in meditation was only once after bad sleep at night
-Craving for fast carbs is not more a huge issue
- I also lose about 3 kg

So if you feel dullness frequently, you can give it a try.

Next post I’m going to review one more similar intervention-intermitting fasting.

--

--