Hello! My Name Is Andy

Welcome to my profile, December 2021

Andy McAleese
2 min readDec 11, 2021
Photo of me

About Me

I’m passionate about smashing mental health stigma and creating more open and supportive workplaces, and society more generally.

I work in the insurance industry and have discovered writing as both a hobby and as a medium for talking about mental health, well-being and sharing stories and experiences.

Stories I’ve Written

These are some of my most popular articles or ones I most enjoyed writing.

  1. 3 Life Lessons I Learned From My Dad
  2. We Still Need to Talk About Mental Health At Work
  3. What Can “The Matrix” Tell Us About Mental Health
  4. I “Should” Be Writing More
  5. Mental Health is a Winding Road

What I Do

I work in the insurance industry in a leadership position and, as well as writing here on Medium, I also publish articles on my own blog and make occasional YouTube videos which can be found on my YouTube channel.

As part of my mental health advocacy work, I was awarded “Most Inspiring Senior Leader of the Year” at the 2021 This Can Happen awards and am named on the 2021 InsideOut Leaderboard, which celebrates senior leaders who are open about their lived mental health experiences.

--

--

Andy McAleese

I’m passionate about helping to break down mental health stigma by sharing my lived experience and sharing what I’m learning about looking after my well-being.