4 Brands That Roped Me in With Their Instagram Advertising

Annabelle Holman
4 min readMar 5, 2020

--

This week on my blog I wanted to highlight four brands: Quip, Away, Birdies, and Glossier. These brands have an excellent presence on Instagram, so much so that their marketing strategies encouraged me to cave in and get the products.

I haven’t bought all of these items myself (some were gifted) but that doesn’t detract from the fact that these brands really roped me in on social media. Also, I have really enjoyed ALL FOUR of these products (#NotSponsored), so next time you see an ad for them, maybe consider!

Quip

First of all, let me just say the subscription model for a toothbrush is GENIUS. I don’t even want to think about past toothbrushes I’ve had that probably waaaay overstayed their welcome.

I have the rose gold metal model, which is a little on the pricier side, running for $45. (The more basic plastic model is only $25.)

With the subscription model, you pay $5 every three months for Quip to send you a new battery and brush head.

I used to have a Sonicare, which is also a really high-rated toothbrush. However, I hated how loud and bulky it was. I actually felt self-conscious brushing my teeth in front of friends or even people in my dorm so I ended up switching to a pretty basic toothbrush. Quip toothbrushes are so quiet, the person next to you can hardly hear it.

Now they have floss! On the website, it's boldly marketed as “floss you actually want to use.” It’s only a matter of time before I hop on that train too.

Away

I have “The Bigger Carry-On” style of this luggage in all black. I love this suitcase! My favorite part about it is that it comes with a portable charger that easily clicks into the top of the suitcase. This charger stays charged for a LONG time. I no longer have to worry about not sitting next to an outlet in an airport or accidentally forgetting to pack a different portable charger.

This suitcase also has wheels that glide so unbelievably effortlessly. They are so smooth, so I can just hold it beside me as I walk — no more dragging!

This brand has partnered with Serena Williams and Pantone for exclusive luggage collections.

Birdies

I own two pairs of these stylish flats. They are cute, comfy, and all of the velvet and satin shoes are also vegan! So you can feel good on the inside AND on the outside when you wear them.

The website claims that you don’t need to break them in, but I got two styles, The Starling and The Heron, and The Starling was way easier to break in than The Heron. I love the satin-y quilted material in the shoe. It’s so comfortable. The shoes are so simple yet effortlessly chic and stylish. I like to wear them to my internship with a pair of jeans, but they can totally be dressed up as well. Head over to their Instagram for some style inspo.

Glossier

Ok…. who hasn’t been roped into Glossier’s beautiful marketing? Their campaigns center on natural, effortless beauty and their makeup is very minimal and clean.

So far, I only have one makeup product from them, a “glistening eye glow” called Lidstar in shade Cub. However, I’m excited to try Skywash, the matte version of this eyeshadow, as well as their skincare. I’m so eager to see how their products live up to the hype.

Glossier has two permanent locations in New York and LA, with occasional pop-ups in other cities.

All four of these brands do an amazing job curating their Instagram feeds and catering to the right audience. Has anyone else fallen for the same ads?

--

--