The Benefits of Growth Feeling Like Chaos

Wouldn’t it be lovely if growth, societal or personal, followed a smooth, linear path? Sadly, that’s rarely the case. Growth often leads us to extreme experiences and emotions, creating loops and cycles. Why is that?

Anne Bach Stensgaard
3 min readJan 11, 2024
Who knew growth could happen from doing nothing at all? As a former productivity addict, I certainly did not know. This is me relaxing in the mountains of Teresopolis, Brazil. It looks nice, but it felt scary in the beginning.

Growth is Fueled by Conflicting Ideas

I’ve found the concept of Hegel’s dialectic incredibly useful whenever I find myself getting overwhelmed by chaos, be it in politics or in my own life. Why? Because it sheds light on why growth can feel so chaotic and why the chaos is beneficial. Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel was a German philosopher whose influential works in the 19th century explored the development of human thought through the interaction of opposing forces.

This dialectical method comprises three simple stages:

  • Thesis (Starting Point): The initial idea or condition representing a specific viewpoint or situation.
  • Antithesis (Contradiction): The emergence of a conflicting idea challenging the thesis, creating contradiction.
  • Synthesis (Integration): From the clash between thesis and antithesis, a new, complex idea emerges, reconciling their contradictions.

According to Hegel, this cyclical progression propels progress, change, and societal development. It’s not merely conflict but a means to advance understanding by resolving contradictions towards a comprehensive viewpoint. While often used to describe societal development, I find it applicable to personal growth too.

Let me share two examples:

  • On a societal level, this dynamic echoes in Danish politics, particularly in the current discourse on work. A new movement challenges the notion of mandatory full-time work for societal contribution. It emphasizes that working part-time can be the right decision for some people for different reasons, and they shouldn’t be shamed for paying fewer taxes than full-time workers. Conversely, some powerful politicians argue citizens owe full-time work to society, as all citizens are able to enjoy the same full-time benefits from the state (healthcare, education, infrastructure, etc.). Both views, while valid, represent extreme poles — thesis and antithesis — necessary for synthesis.
  • Similarly, on an individual level, people often transition from one extreme to another to grow. For instance, those shifting from a long-term committed relationship to suddenly exploring numerous short-term romances. Or those feeling weighed down by goals, structures, and responsibilities who decide to break out and live life without any plan for a while (yep, that’s me!).

Benefits of Experiencing Extremes

Despite feeling chaotic, fluctuating between extremes yields valuable lessons. For one, it fosters skill development. When I was living my life back in Denmark and wanted to let go of some of the rigidity, I was struggling because I didn’t yet have the skills to let go. In the context of my life back then, it was hard for me to learn those skills. Living in the extreme (taking a sabbatical) made it much easier. Now, after some time, it’s much easier for me to be unprepared, go with the flow, and take life one day at a time.

Secondly, understanding both extreme ends enhances empathy for people currently living out one of the extremes. Empathy, defined as the ability to connect with others by understanding their perspectives, is probably one of the most important skills for us to develop if we want to live in a world where people can thrive. Empathy is not agreeing or disagreeing with someone, but simply (though it’s not always easy) the ability to understand and communicate that understanding.

Taking myself as an example, from now on, I deeply understand people who like to plan and who are really responsible. I’ve been there myself; I know the benefits of this approach to life. Similarly, I deeply understand people who prefer not to have a plan and to live more openly in line with the flow of life.

Integration Doesn’t Conclude Growth

Hegel’s dialectic suggests growth is ongoing. Though reaching synthesis feels relieving, it’s not a final destination. Societies and individuals continuously face new themes requiring integration. There’s no perfect, everlasting societal or personal design. Instead, we must navigate chaos by fostering curiosity, empathy, and enjoying the evolving journey!

So, whenever you next find yourself frustrated about why you, your friend, or the politician is going to extremes, I hope this concept can help you see it as a healthy part of growth.

If you are curious about my own chaotic growth journey, you can read my post on it here.

--

--

Anne Bach Stensgaard

As I am traveling through life, I enjoy gathering my thoughts and insights, write them down, and share them with you! Follow me on Instagram too @annestensgaard