30 Posts in 30 Days Challenge

Especially When It Gets Hard

I’m here after all. Are you too?

Anton the Writer
3 min readFeb 9, 2024
When I feel like I am disintegrating. Image created using Night Cafe AI.

It’s day 15 of my writing challenge and I’ve no energy.

There was another day when I didn’t post. I posted twice the following day to make up for it. It felt like cheating.

I came close to quitting tonight.

“But where is the value in this story? Why post it if it doesn’t have value?” I hear the voice in the back of my head and I respond: it’s not for me to decide. Funnily enough, I read several stories today that spoke of the struggle to post daily. Which only reinforced me to go ahead.

I am working through the pain. The pain is me having headaches and high blood pressure all day long. My body is urging me to lie down and get some shuteye.

And like the last story I read, I know I wouldn’t be able to rest before I post. I will think of the time wasted in the morning. And I would chalk it up as a loss.

My failure.

Medium is a writer’s platform, I get it. We talk about why we write, what we write for, how we can get better as writers, and what holds us back or makes writing difficult for us. For me, it often feels like a dog chasing its tail.

Is this really of interest to anyone?

I hope it is because then I don’t have to feel like every one of my posts is about consistency and perseverance and makes it out as if this whole endeavor is about gritting your teeth and marching through the piercing cold rain.

It’s also about strolling through an endless field with an intense golden sun spilling into the horizon.

Today is day 15 and I’m at the halfway mark. Come back tomorrow to see my Medium stats.

And drop by on Sunday for my next review of one of the Best Picture nominees of 2024.

I’ll go get that shuteye and wait for the blood pressure to drop.

Cheerio.

Doctors working their magic to save me, the book. Image created using Night Cafe AI.

Did you find this whining story helpful? Here are ways you can show you care:

  1. Follow my Medium account for daily content.
  2. Leave me a comment and tell me if today was hard for you.
  3. Buy me a coffee. Coffee (and cake) make the world better.

Thanks, and see you tomorrow! ❤️✍🏻

--

--

Anton the Writer

Senior Copywriter, film lover, plant dad and baker. Here to share thoughts & opinions on current movies and other non-fictional writing of mine. Welcome!