Their Marketing vs My Marketing

Arka Das
3 min readFeb 26, 2018

--

Colors are deceptive. Hope your marketing strategies are not!

This is a fraudulent title but let it be.

Because, all of us love conflict. Bruised face, battered conscience , an emerging protagonist, the antagonist with vengeance. We are driven by the virtue vs vice, triumph vs defeat and a hurried tossing of all emotions.

Can we keep away marketing from this murky circus?

Their Marketing

They believe in shining lights, the pomp, the wow, turning heads, dropping jaws. They yell, grab and burn eyeballs, stop heart and make you slave.

Freaking smart, perfect, almost a machine they race against the clock. They have it all sorted even the growth.

On a yacht, in the middle of sunny Mediterranean sea, you will find them laughing the last laugh with a wink and lavish claim of fooling you, outsmarting you.

My Story

I don’t need to be that smart. I am not here to win over you but be yours.

I see human beings, deeply rooted in problem, often lost or hunting for a solution.

Can I reach out to the helpless? Can I help them? My struggle is perennial, without any excel sheet, without any target, certainly out of KPI.

My struggle, process continues till some asteroid turns the earth into rubble.

I don’t want to sound smart. I am not into trickery. They are not my cash cow. What about an exchange of emotions? Yes, I can survive without 8 figure.

Enough of this “More price, the better” shit!

Are you in my team?

The Litmus Test:

If yes, then remember you will feel alone in the crowd because even your clients believe in the tactics which are pushy, coaxing and over-imposing. They are vulnerable before habits.

That does not mean you can’t spin the archaic wheel other way.

There will be tough nights which will throw you at the corner and catch you by the neck to revisit and change your stance.

“Where is your number?”

“Show me how successful you are”, they will yell.

And you will stay transfixed without any answer. This is the time your belief be tested.

This is why you need a “WHY”.

Hard Earned Silver Lining:

Welcome to the sweet and happy world of marketing where you believe in something and this is why you are heading towards market.

This is a place where you want to really sell your stuff, not for your bread and butter but for them, their sound sleep and beautiful rendezvous.

Welcome to the transparent world of marketing where you don’t need to seduce anyone to sell, don’t need to fool anyone to sell but opening up your heart with your true belief will do the job.

Subtly. Sweetly. Everyday.

Have a say on this? I would love to hear from you. Ignore clapping if you want (though it will help Medium to recognize my words) but please share your thoughts, if you are on the same page with me or have a different standpoint.

--

--