James Blake ‘Assume Form’ Review (1-Listen Album Review)

atrebs
5 min readJan 19, 2019

--

Inspired by DJ Booth’s 1-Listen Album Review series (and Dave Portnoy’s One Bite Pizza Reviews) — I am creating my own album 1-listen album reviews. The purpose is to listen to new music with more intent and with a more discerning ear.

Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.

Let’s get it.

Update: I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Check it out for new reviews and general Music musings.

James Blake — Assume Form

1. Assume Form

And we’re off. Nice piano bit to start. Classic James Blake entry. Setting the stage. The man is a musical wizard. He’s building anxiety with these abrupt sounds. It’s time to assume form for the rest of this album. Such a beautiful, ethereal mixture of instruments and voice. What is this pitched up angelic singing? My nerves are calmed after the hectic beginning. It really sounds like an orchestra.

2. Mile High feat. Travis Scott and Metro Boomin

This combination. WOW TRAVIS SO SMOOTH. The progression and growth of Travis and Metro is remarkable. I never knew this was the combo I wanted to hear over icy smooth production. Holy shit James Blake is matching the vibe that Travis came with. They're bouncing off each other perfectly. It’s like when you play the iPhone game Ballz and get the perfect bounce off the bricks. This is a classic.

3. Tell Them feat. Moses Sumney and Metro Boomin

Moses! I saw him at Coachella, what a treat to see live. I already know this will be amazing. Three absolute musicians on this track. That raspy Moses voice contrasts James’ smooth baritone so well. This drum pack has Metro written all over it. I’m so here for Metro displaying his versatility. Very glad he’s teaming with James Blake. Beautiful melody. Thank you for the appearances Metro. Loved them.

4. Into The Red

Cathartic start. Nice piano rift to begin the transition. Hearing some auto-tune from James. He really fills your sonic wavelength with this one. Minimal beat with maximum vocals. I’m having trouble hearing the lyrics because I’m so enthralled by the production and the sound. “Gonna keep her in my sights gonna keep her in my life”.

5. Barefoot In The Park feat. Rosalía

Beautiful Spanish singing by Rosalia over this fantastic beat. “Barefoot in the park you start rubbing off on me” is painting a gorgeous picture. “Who needs balance? I’ll see you every day” he’s really into someone. That was a fantastic love song.

6. Can’t Believe The Way We Flow

The title makes this look like another love song. Happy Blake. He’s building this up by adding more and more instruments to the beat. This just flows and you know everything is steady. “You are my fear of death” the guy is deeply in love. “Despite what I was told / I’m finding I’m a smaller piece / Than I once thought”.

7. Are You In Love?

Is James Blake deeply in love but not feeling the reciprocation? He’s trying his hardest and all he wants is an impression that they are in love as well. Everyone’s been there, not knowing what they are going to get or what the other person is feeling. That’s why communication at all stages is so key. Very important and touching song. Voices an emotion that everyone feels at some point.

8. Where’s The Catch? feat. André 3000

Andre 3000. I get so excited whenever I see that name on a feature. Maybe more so than any other artist. He doesn’t feature often but when he does.. He features big. “Alright now this might be a little bit heavy”. Wow wow wow. Holy shit. Fuck. I can’t comprehend. Fuck. 3 STACKS. OVER A BLAKE BEAT. This got me bouncing. This got me feeling. I can’t do anything but laugh. James Blake just constructed a masterpiece that perfectly fit into Andre 3000’s style. Going to have to revisit this verse for the lyrics. “Everything’s rose” means everything is going great. That’s exactly how I feel with these two. Where is the catch!? Gem.

9. I’ll Come Too

I still can’t over that last song. He’s following the person wherever they go. Reminds me of Kanye’s 30 hours. Fuck it I’ll drive 30 hours to meet up with you. I don’t got anything better to do. The beat composition on the chorus is beautiful of course. He throws in so many different sounds that mix in perfectly together. I feel happy listening to this.

10. Power On

“I thought sex was at my pace, but I was wrong / I thought it mattered more I’d say, but I was wrong / I thought you were second place to every song” He fucked up somehow. He’s seeing that now. After carelessly, joyfully following wherever they go he now sees the carelessness of his actions. And it’s a good thing that he understands this so that he can improve. What a journey.

11. Don’t Miss It

“Everything is about me / I am the most important thing”. Channeling his inner Future? Let’s see but I doubt it. Woah this voice manipulation. Similar style to his song “If The Car Beside You Moves Ahead”. He could do all these things but he doesn’t want to miss it. Don’t miss out on the moments of your life. Feel them. Embrace them. Goosebumps.

12. Lullaby For My Insomniac

Smooth. Gentle. Peaceful. Calming after the rush of “Don’t Miss It”. I needed this lullaby after the rush I just went through.

James Blake — Assume Form: Final (First Listen) Thoughts

Not only does James Blake create a beautiful narrative with his lyrics and features, but the sounds he composes elevates Assume Form to the next level. Every feature is masterfully selected. Every piece of sound is masterfully crafted. The man is a maestro, composing his own symphony. Highly recommend to sit and listen to this one all the way through. I already know there’s a lot I didn’t pick up on the first listen — I will absolutely be revisiting this while following along on Genius.

Top 3 tracks are “Mile High”, “Where’s The Catch”, and “Don’t Miss It”

Again, I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Peep it to see new reviews and general Music musings.

Previous 1-Listen Album Reviews:

--

--

atrebs

1-Listen Album Reviews. Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.