I am a Doomer. Here’s my plan to be a Bloomer.

Authorsushrut
6 min readOct 22, 2023

--

The time has come to change something. And change comes from within.

Google Definitions
Doomer: A guy who is no longer pursuing friendships or relationships and gets no joy from anything because he knows that the world is coming to an end.
Bloomer: He rejects nihilism and remains optimistic about the future, often pursuing deeper meaning in life.

_____________________________________________________________

Let me ask you something.

Do you feel like life is passing you by? Do your relations hold no meaning for you? Is everything gloomy and hopeless?

Most of all, do you have someone to share your pain with?

I can feel you, bro/sis. I am right where you are. I have very few friends, I can’t talk about my stuff with my family for fear of judgment.

My sleep schedule is utter shite.

My room is in a constant mess. I barely manage to complete my work before deadlines. There is a void in me. I can’t explain it, but it’s empty. And it’s eating away the rest of my soul.

I have been going to the cinema alone for the past 3 years.

The last film I saw with a friend was Avengers Endgame. I go to eat alone. I buy my books alone. I am alone.

I don’t know if any of you feel like this, but this is tearing me apart (Lisa).

And I am done, feeling like this. I have spent too much effort trying to make those happy who don’t care enough about me.

I am alone, but I for sure as hell am not helpless. Our ancestors fought giant bears and saber-toothed tigers. Even to this day, there are thousands of people who are suffering the cataclysmic effects of poverty, war, and dictatorship.

People are tough, and I know for a fact that there are thousands who will swap places with me in a heartbeat.

So, I am not going to blame anyone but myself. I’ve got myself in this mess, and I now believe I can get myself out. I have been dooming for quite some time, and I’ve had it. Time to start blooming.

Here is my master plan.

Step 1: Defining goals.

Here is a list of my goals

  • Finish the 3rd draft of my book by Diwali and send it for publication after Diwali.
  • Deadlift at least 100 kgs by the end of 5 months, bench 60–70 Kgs, same for squat, row, and pulldown. OHP at around 45–50 Kg. My goal is the silver-era aesthetic. (I am 165 cm tall and weigh 65 kg. Cut me some slack please.)
  • Improve my writing skills. This is a work in progress but I will keep up my posting schedule so that I can keep myself accountable.
  • Speed up my work. I don’t want to miss any deadlines. As of now I rarely do, but since I have been down, I have been slacking my work. This will not stand anymore.
  • Fix my sleep schedule. No screens after 10, I’ll read a book before I go to sleep. And sharp wakey-wakey by 5:30.
  • Travel more. I don’t want to spend all my time playing games. I admit I needed the video game phase because it made me feel good, but now, I have to move on. I will now take one day from my weekend to travel the city alone.

These are my goals for the rest of the year. What about you? Here, let me help you with that:

- What are the skills you want to improve, emotionally, personally, physically, mentally, or financially?

- What are you afraid of? What’s stopping you from attacking your fears?

- If you had a billion dollars, what would you change about your personal life, from an emotional standpoint?

I hope these 3 questions can help you clear some fog.

Step 2: I need to get off social media.

I hate Instagram and Facebook. I don’t have any profile of Xitter, and I don’t even know what the hell is Snapchat. Maybe I am a Zoomer X Boomer, who knows.

But I spend over 7 hours on YouTube. That’s a lot. So, instead of that, I’ll spend more time trying to hone my craft and write some articles here.

Let’s see how that goes.

Step 3: Embrace Nofap.

I have a problem. And now let’s keep it at that. As November approaches, so does the challenge of NNN. I used to avoid it for obvious reasons. But not this time.

I am done.

I am angry, and I am tired of how emotionally weak I have become. I am easily distracted; I cannot get out of my screen. I need a full-fledged dopamine detox and I am hoping that this November will give me the opportunity to test myself.

For the record, I already know that I am going to fail the 30-day challenge. It’s not possible for a guy like me. But…I will give it my all and see how far I can go. I am only competing against myself.

Fingers crossed.

Step 4: Workout at least 3 times a week

As mentioned above, my physical goals aren’t too unrealistic. I have been consistent for some time, but I am not seeing any gains. Maybe that’s because I am not eating enough.

I was told that I needed to lose weight so that was my goal. I am a little shy so I am not comfortable sharing my pic here, maybe once I overcome that and get a physique worth showing, I will think about it.

Step 5: Work harder and faster on my skills

This goes for my profession. I work as a writer, and as a writer, I need to sharpen my skills if I want to stay employable.

I am going to start reading a few books to improve my skills, namely anything written by William Zinsser, and Robert Bly and On Writing by Stephen King.

To be honest, trying to be a writer is a daunting task and I am very scared. I am competing against millions, for the attention of millions, and I don’t know how many will think my writing is worthy of their time.

I don’t know what the future holds and that scares the hell out of me. I hope that I make it. Let’s see.

Wish me luck.

Step 6: Improve my attitude to be assertive (being kind but not a doormat)

This one is simple.

  • I am going to speak firmly with a smile.
  • I won’t be a doormat for anyone.
  • I will keep my emotions in control, and direct them in a strong way so that people think twice before messing with me, no matter who they are.

Step 7: Stay consistent

None of what I said above will matter if I am not consistent. I have never been consistent, and the results show. I hate my life.

I will keep my schedule tight and try my best to stay accountable. I have you guys with me, so we will see how this journey of self-discovery, self-improvement, and most importantly, self-chiseling pans out.

Here is my master plan, and I invite you to join me on this journey.

What about you? Take some time to define your own goals and embrace positive changes in your life.

Let’s conquer our inner doomer, reject nihilism, and emerge as bloomers, full of optimism and purpose. Share your experiences and goals in the comments below. Let’s support each other on our paths to self-discovery and self-improvement.

Here’s to a brighter future, my fellow kings and queens. We’ve got this!

Writer’s note: If you have made it this far, then you’re a champ, my friend. Thank you so much.

--

--

Authorsushrut

Just a guy who's trying to push the proverbial boulder on top of a hill. Catch me on my site, how about that? https://www.sushrutewari.com/