Part 2/3 : What opportunities awaits post-GATE, and how did I get into IIIT Delhi?

Bandana Prasad
4 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Hey there! This article offers a broad perspective, covering the spectrum of opportunities available both with and without a GATE score. I’m also gonna spill all the details about my MTech admission ride at IIIT Delhi.

Also, if you’re keen to get the inside scoop on how I prepared for GATE, go ahead and click the link for the full story!

Unlock Opportunities: Applying with Your GATE Score!

Smashing a good GATE score totally open doors to some cool job spots . PSUs are among the first avenues, where a stellar GATE rank, typically under 300, may be necessary to receive a call — though this can vary slightly based on the number of vacancies. Many PSUs, including BHEL, IOCL, NTPC, Power Grid, NPCIL, GAIL, SAIL, BPCL, and others, recruit GATE-qualified candidates for executive positions such as Engineer Trainees or Management Trainees. Some PSUs may rely on the GATE score as a primary recruitment criterion, while others may use it for initial screening before interviews and subsequent tests. Keep your eyes open for job announcements from these PSUs; they post it up on their official websites or pop it into job news. It’s like a treasure hunt!

Another excellent opportunity is to pursue advanced degrees such as a Master’s or a Ph.D. at premier Indian institutions like the IITs, IISc, IIITs, NITs, and other renowned universities. Additionally, some international universities in countries like Germany and Singapore also recognize the GATE score for admissions into their postgraduate programs. Organizations such as DRDO, BARC, and others consider GATE scores when hiring researchers and scientists. Furthermore, numerous fellowships, such as the Junior Research Fellowships (JRF) in CSIR laboratories and projects, are awarded to those with GATE qualifications. It is important to regularly check the official websites of institutes and organizations, as vacancies and recruitment processes may change annually.

No GATE? Explore Alternate Career Gateways!

There are numerous fulfilling career and academic pathways exist that do not hinge on a GATE score: India is home to prestigious institutions such as IIITH, BITS Pilani, IIITD, and VIT, among others, where MTech admissions do not necessitate a GATE score. Instead, these institutions employ unique entrance examinations and selection procedures. Certain IITs, like IIT Kanpur, also offer eMasters — a remote master’s degree program. For those with aspirations to study overseas, standardized tests like the GRE, TOEFL, or IELTS are typically required, which vary according to the institution and country, rendering the GATE score unnecessary.

ECE enthusiasts may find VEDA IIT to be an appealing choice, an industry-supported institute which specializes in VLSI engineering education and training. Moreover, a host of government organizations including ISRO, BARC, BEL, HAL, various metro rail corporations, and the railways conduct their unique online exams, succeeded by interviews, for recruitment.

Seeing my sister totally crush it at IISc in her masters got me thinking about hitting the books for higher studies instead of diving right into a job. While I was getting my BTech done at USICT in Delhi, I started hearing loads of good stuff about IIIT Delhi, like how it’s a powerhouse for learning and its great placement records. This insight led me to prioritize IIITD as my top choice , despite the limitations of my situation.

Down at IIITD, they’ve got the MTech program doors open for all sorts of folks, whether you’ve aced the GATE or not. I have applied through the gate and am eager to share with you the details of my entire MTech admission process.

MTech Admission : IIIT Delhi’s Pathway

When the GATE results came out, I began scouting for opportunities far and wide. March rolled around and so did IIIT Delhi’s application forms- most seats earmarked for GATE candidates and a handful for the non-GATE folks. I applied via GATE , and they shortlisted based on our GATE scores combined with undergrad marks. My GATE rank hovered around 3K and my undergrad percentage was at 79, which got me on the shortlist.

After the first round of shortlisting , the college conducted an aptitude test packed with logical reasoning and quantitative analysis questions. This was a hurdle for both GATE and non-GATE candidates. Post-test, the college released two lists for us GATE examinees. One for the folks who’d clinched a final selection and another for those heading to interviews, which included me. For non-GATE candidates, interviews were a must.

The exact weightage of the test in their selection process is a bit of a mystery to me, but I guess the lists were a combo of GATE scores, academic marks, and test performance. I had buddies with better GATE scores who botched the test and missed the shortlist. In my interview, the panel mostly grilled me on GATE subjects like digital electronics, signal systems and few questions were on CMOS. Felt like it went pretty well for me.

When the results came out, I wasn’t among the first-round picks, but I hung out on the waiting list and managed to get through in the second round of allotment. Typically, the top rankers would usually snag their preferred streams like VLSI; I ended up steering towards CSP (Communication and Signal Processing), but I was very happy with my selection. At the time, there were only two specializations: VLSI and CSP, but please check the latest updates on the official website of the college since every year new additions come up, though in general, the selection criteria remain mostly the same.

I will talk in my next article about how I moved into the VLSI field instead of staying with the communication branch and will share the detailed journey of my master’s at IIIT Delhi.

Thanks for reading! If you found it valuable, please share it with your network. Also, you can connect with me on Medium & LinkedIn

--

--