September 2017: I have seen 36 movies this month.

Amanda Hudgins
3 min readOct 3, 2017

--

In a sort of half-hearted New Years resolution, I thought it might be a good idea to watch more movies. This is month 6. You can follow my regular movie diary onLetterboxd. Last month’s upkeep can be found here: January 2017, February 2017, March 2017, April 2017 , May 2017. June 2017, July 2017, August 2017.

It is October 2 at 8:22 PM and I’m currently watching What We Do in the Shadows. I would’ve written earlier but over the weekend I attended GDEX where I showed off #1000ButtonProject.

This month I slowed down substantially on my intact as “500 movies in a year” became less of a secret goal and more of an extreme possibility.

But away from that and on to the movies for this month.

Numbers

This month I saw 36 movies, coming to a grand total of 3031 minutes. This averages out to about 84 minutes per film. The longest film I’ve seen this month was Stephen King’s It, the miniseries from the 80’s. The shortest film was 2048: Nowhere to Run at about 6 minutes.

Stephen King’s It

Most of the films I watched this month were on Netflix. In theaters in September I saw 5 films in theaters, including Kingsman: the Golden Circle, mother!, Birth of a Dragon, It, and Annabelle: Creation. 2 of those were at the Bourbon Drive-In, which was lovely and highly recommended.

In total this puts me at 483 movies, with 459 of them on Letterboxd. This puts me at 44,040 minutes for the year, which comes out to an average of 91 minutes per film. That number hasn’t changed dramatically in awhile, and probably won’t unless I spend like a month watching shorts, but it’s interesting to see it settle.

Highlights

This months best movie was probably The Good Time Girls, a sort of revenge western made by a first time director who had previously worked as a costume designer on films like Baby Driver and Django Unchained. It comes out to about 16 minutes and is a solid watch, so much that I watched it again just to make sure that my friends had also seen it.

The Good Time Girls

The worst movie I watched this month is probably Soldier Boyz, an absolutely terrible Michael Dudikoff movie that is kind of like Stand and Deliver meets Suicide Squad. I didn’t actually include it in the count because I had to give up on it for being an incomprehensible and unfun mess.

The worst movie I saw this month that I actually finished was mother! and yes, it was terrible and yes I know it’s artsy and deep and you can read my full review on Unwinnable because the more I talk and hear about this movie the madder I am about it.

Trends

The biggest trend this month is the continuing trend towards documentary films. I watched 11, approximately a third of the content.

This included additional trend wherein I watched documentaries about products of 90’s skate culture, like Sold Out: the Underground Economy of Supreme Resellers, EPICLY LATER’D: Bam Margera, and Dumb: The Story of Big Brother Magazine. This touched on the story of Bam Margera of Jackass, the story of the magazine Big Brother — which was American street skate culture in the 90’s until it’s death in the early 2000’s, and Supreme, a retailer of skate culture turned into mainstream street style.

Last Friday I also received a Movie Pass in the mail, so I’m excited to see how that changes my viewing habits this month.

If you’re interested in seeing more, you can follow me on Letterboxd and on Twitter.

--

--