Medium Logo Concept

Bence Bogár
3 min readOct 9, 2015

These are my three steps how I embraced the new Medium logo.

Before I tell my story you should know these facts:

  • I believe in the mission of Medium.
  • I love the product. I use it everyday.
  • I put the app icon on my main screen.

1. Deny

Alarm clock. Red slippers. Filter coffee.

App Store. Updates. Update all.

And then a silent wtf!?

That was my first opinion about the new Medium logo.

2. Do

I have different methods how I embrace the continuous change in my life for example sunrise meditation, daily design and sunset running.

It is always good to remember myself that I became a designer because this is the way how I can solve a problem or convert into an opportunity.

So I rescheduled my meetings, tasks and I gave myself 5 hours:

  • 2 hours Moleskine
  • 2 hours Sketch
  • 1 hour Medium

The colors and the typeface of the new logo made me satisfied so I do not deal with them.

I just concentrate to the shape and I create three levels of meaning from concrete to abstract.

M-character, pen and book

First level:

  • M-character – symbol of Medium

Second level:

  • pen – symbol of writing
  • book – symbol of reading
origami, bird and hourglass

Third level:

  • origami – symbol of changing
  • bird – symbol of spreading
  • hourglass – symbol of timing

Final version.

Medium logo concept

App icons.

watchOS, iOS and Android

What do you think about it?

3. Accept

I pushed the publish button, make another cup of coffee and read some of my bookmarks.

What a beautiful day, thank you Medium! :)

Bence

Mobile, IOT & AI Designer
Twitter, Medium and Dribbble.
Ping me! I’d love to hear from you.

Collaborate with great teams like Makery.
“The mobile team you love working with.”

Here you can read more about my latest design projects:
Apple Watch App Icon Concept and Product Hunt Logo Concept.

--

--