Yes, IAPWE is a Scam. Here’s How It Works.

Bonny Albo
9 min readJun 19, 2022
Photo of beads and trinkets spelling out the word ‘scam’. For the article, “Yes, IAPWE is a Scam”.
Photo by Tara Winstead @ Pexels

I should know better.

I’ve worked as a freelance writer online and marketing agency owner for decades.

(No, that’s not a typo, I got started in the late 90s when people still believed working remotely was a scam).

I swear I’ve come across every writing scam there is. From “but it’ll give you exposure,” to, “you should pay us to write,” I’ve heard it all.

IAPWE, however, came highly recommended from a fellow writer that I trust. “They pay $60 for 300 words!” they gushed. “Seriously, go check them out.”

So here’s my sordid story of checking out IAPWE, getting scammed inadvertently, finding out 31 days later when my bank contacted me about the NSF fees, and just how I fell into this ridiculous trap.

Don’t be me. Don’t be fooled. Yes, TL;DR, IAPWE is a scam. Scroll on to read the details.

(Or, if you’re more interested in finding legitimate paid writing work, check out my newest article here on Medium).

The Application Process

If it weren’t for the pandemic, I wouldn’t have even considered signing up for IAPWE. But, like many of us in marketing, content or the intersection of the two, the market got saturated when everyone started wanting to work from home…

--

--

Bonny Albo

Profitable blogger since 1997, nine years with About / The New York Times. Helps writers earn the living (blogving) of their dreams https://blogving.gumroad.com