How to change your profile picture

cabline1
5 min readJun 18, 2022

--

You need to edit your Tezos profile. If you never set up a Tezos profile, please read this article.

Step 1. Upload your image on an image hosting website

Don’t use the link to a picture on Twitter or an objkt piece, a link to an image on a Google Drive etc. It doesn’t work.

You need to upload it on an image hosting website. You can use imgur for example.

  1. Go to https://imgur.com/.
  2. Sign up. You can register with Facebook/Twitter etc. but also with your email:

3. Add an image.

Click on “images” under this user name at the top right:

4. Then click on “add images”:

5. And upload an image:

Mine was uploaded:

6. Now click on the image. You will see a lot of links on the right:

The “Direct Link” will be the one we need. Keep that page open or the Direct Link saved somewhere.

Step 2. Delete your preexisting “Basic Profile Information”

Now you need to go to https://tzprofiles.com/

Click on “connect wallet”:

Next to “Basic Profile Information”:

Click on “delete”:

Once it’s deleted, you will see this:

Click on “verify”

Step 3. Update your “Basic Profile Information”

  1. You will need to fill the first 3 fields:

“Alias” = your name (it doesn’t need to be your real name)
“Description” = e.g. “my main account”
“Website”= it could be your website, a link to your Twitter, or your Instagram

3. Add the link to your picture

The last field “logo” is the field where you will paste your image URL. Copy the “Direct Link” you got on imgur at step 1. Reminder: it’s here:

4. Submit

Now I click on “submit”:

I can see a preview. I’m satisfied with it. Now I can click on “review and sign”.

5. Review and sign

I confirmed in my wallet.

Here is what I now see on the tezos profile page:

My “Basic Profile Information” status has changed from “Incomplete” to “Awaiting upload”:

If you want to check again what you submitted, you can click on the little eye next to “Awaiting Upload”:

It’s perfect.

Step 4. Upload claims

Now I need to click on “upload claims”.

Where is it? It’s at the top, next to “My credentials” and “View on Tzkt”:

This window pops up:

I click on “add claims to profile” and I confirm in my wallet.

Now wait a bit:

It took one minute for me.

Done! Now I see that the “Basic Profile Information” is complete:

How do I check that my change was taken into account? How do I make sure the changes will appear?

Next to “My Credentials”, click on “View on TzKT”:

I see here that there was an operation 9 min. ago which is the time when I uploaded the claims:

So it is a good sign. And I start waiting.

Step 5. Wait

It takes some time for the Tezos Profile to update and then it takes some time for the objkt profile to match the update of the Tezos Profile (it shouldn’t take to long however).

Here: 20 minutes after I clicked on “upload claims”, it now appears on my objkt profile!

If you have any question, you can ask Tezos profile for support in their Discord called “spruce”: https://discord.gg/hcdTqFRXrw

Here is their Twitter: https://twitter.com/tzProfiles

--

--

cabline1

I am the curator for objkt.com. I wrote the articles here to explain how I use objkt with simple words. But for any tech support, please ask on the Discord :)