5 | Foods Consumed in Costa Rica I Now Can’t Live Without

Marta C
4 min readApr 16, 2023

--

5 | Things series is an exploratory selection of reflections and focused on sharing multicultural perspectives on personal development, experiences, relationships, and travel as a first-gen Polish-American former NY-er traveling Central and Latin America with my rescue and soul dog, Luna.

This is the first installment of a five-part series I have created to accompany my weekly newsletter where I share my collections of moments of joy, Tuesday Tingle, published on my Substack CalmThyme -https://calmthyme.substack.com/

Read more from the 5 | Series:

5| Things to know before traveling to Costa Rica

5 | Favorite Spanish terms I’ve added to my daily rhetoric

5 | Life lessons from my first tropical rainy season

I surpassed 25 weeks of writing an intentional personal collection of joy and series, Tuesday Tingle. In fact, this last week was actually 30 weeks.

As a celebration, I’m challenging myself to share an additional series of learnings. I love lists, patterns, and my own personal organized chaos (usually with an abundance of post-its and colored pens) and so with a suggestion from my friend Amanda (thank you for pushing me and your incentive!) I am sharing some additional learnings and reflections separately!

  1. Natilla -

I’m a sauce gal. Love a dip. Will ask for the extra cheese. With extra sour cream on the side, please. I’ll reach for a carrot just to get an extra dollop of ranch. Wikipedia says natilla is a custard-like dairy dessert. In my head, custard is sweet, like a filling for a danish. Instead, this has more of a neutral, overall creamy, without the touch of vanilla flavor. Anyway, it’s the closest to sour cream that I’ve found (and of course, different brands boast their offerings with different textures, thicknesses, and flavors,) and is utilized as an accompaniment necessary for the morning pinto con maduros. This leads me to…

2. Maduros -

I didn’t grow up eating plantains (no surprise considering my Polish household didn’t have this as a standard in our diet or habitat), and I was always intimidated by them. Why so green?? But damn if I don’t love the versatility and depth of this fruit. And even more, I have loved to watch the growth of those around me. Maduros are fried plantain slices and the sweetness is dependent on the color of the banana. They are typically eaten with breakfast, as well as with casados which is a plated meal with pinto (rice and beans), a protein source (usually meat or fish), salad, and maduros. They are widely eaten and I can attest that they are good at any hour, as long as they are freshly cooked. FYI this is not something you want to reheat in the microwave later, even if it’s for those late-night cravings.

3. Papaya -

Still surprising to me to put this on the list considering that it’s not in my standard flavor profile (I am much more of an acidic/sour-seeking refresher,) but this fruit has incredible digestive properties and helps with neutralizing flavors in a smoothie. I’m still learning to choose the right one depending on when I want to eat it, but it has become a staple purchase in almost every grocery run. Nothing makes me feel healthier than when I have this fruit with breakfast.

4. Ceviche -

I also didn’t expect this to become such a part of my life so much that I crave it, especially after spending some time on the beach. In addition, I understand that its origin is from Peru and Ecuador, however, with access to both the Pacific and Caribbean oceans, it is also offered here at most seafood restaurants. A midday bowl of ceviche with some chili, patacones on the side and a cold Imperial is chefs kiss *.

5. Coffee -

Is coffee a food? Coffee is life. I’ve only intensified my addiction and have no plans to limit it. I am however working on trying to practice having food before I savor the first cup in bed in the mornings. So far, I’ve found a favorite local roaster, Cafe Milagro as well as a connection to a distributor from a different region up north. I will continue expanding my personal coffee database and rating system, even if it’s just for myself!

I’m curious to hear if any of these resonate with any readers! Is there something you believe I may have omitted? Share with me, I’d love to connect!

--

--

Marta C

Introspective reflections and perspectives on personal development and growth, cultural and travel stories, and other layers that shape our human experience.