Art Art Art

Laz
2 min readDec 11, 2019

--

The Old Guitarist (1903)

Art means different things to different people

To me, art is the processing and expression of the human experience -

The highs, the lows and the journey in between

Thru the process of putting it on canvas, we press thru the uncertain and ambiguous fog of modern life changes

- closing our weary eyes and leaning on more introspective senses

Shedding vestigial identities with this impermanence

& growing like tree rings into more authentic values

Here, My Dear (1978)

Thru the process of sharing our art, we connect with our tribe and the world

Consigning our vulnerability in exchange for intimacy and understanding

At the same time the world receives our vulnerability and learns from our history

They relate with our experience

They see the beauty of the human condition

And they often depend on our works as north stars thru their own suffering

Whether it’s Picasso mourning the suicide of a friend

Marvin Gaye processing his tumultuous divorce

Or Ishiguro contemplating regret and self-deception in old age

Art helps the artist understand their own experience and share it with the world for connection

The Remains of the Day (1989)

My art is writing and I do it primarily to understand my authentic self

I plan to continue honing my craft and maybe explore other mediums like songs, scripts or visual art

Thank you for reading and I hope you can give me constructive feedback along the way

Lost In Translation (2003)

For Further Reading…

--

--