Dev Log: Happy Haunts 2.0

Introduction

Chippedsim
2 min readMar 26, 2024

This series of development logs will go over the changes and new features I made in the 2.0 update of my happy haunts graveyard mod.

What is the Happy Haunts Graveyard Mod?
Sims 4 is a life simulator but a big part of life is missing in the game — gameplay focused on the topic of death. Sims 3 used to have a graveyard venue that your Sims could visit. If you visited the lot during the night time it would change and come with a spooky atmosphere.

The core idea of my mod is to add my interpretation of that graveyard venue for Sims 4. The focus is less on realism and more on keeping the balance between adding features surrounding the topic of death while adding a little touch of Sims humour and quirkiness to lighten up the mood.

Besides adding a new venue type the mod also comes with some additional tweaks and additions to the way death works in the game. It tries to add both features for players who prefer more realistic gameplay and players who enjoy playing with occult Sims and a little bit of magic.

Why I’m working on creating an overhaul?
The graveyard mod was one of my first “big” mods. I’ve learned a lot since then and wanted to use that knowledge to improve the mod and add new features. Rewriting the code from scratch makes it easier for me to maintain in the future and allows me to change some of the core aspects on how the mod works.

What’s new?
This list will be updated with links to the Dev Logs that go into detail about the new features added with the new update.

--

--