Race Report: RVM 2023

My Sub-3 at the Royal Victoria Marathon

Daniel
5 min readOct 14, 2023

Bib: 131 // AG: M40–44 // Strava Link // Online Result
Race Date: October 8, 2023

Watch: Wahoo Elemnt Rival
Shoes: Nike Vapofly 3

My days leading up to the marathon were marked by some heavy carbo-loading and hydration. The previous night’s rest was solid; I was in bed by 8:30 PM and up at 6 AM, ready for the day after a small bowl of oatmeal and 2.5 scoops of 5:1 F2C.

I knew I was ready for this with a good fitness base from an intensive early season, including the Island Race Series, and the summer with Ironman Switzerland and 70.3 World Championship. However, a 10+ day taper had left me feeling less than optimal.

Arrival and Warm-Up

I was downtown by 7 AM, the rising sun and chilly air accompanying my warm-up and pre-race jitters. My 3-hour goal, a significant drop from last year’s time of 3:08, weighed heavy on my mind.

I listened to some pre-race tunes and did a quick walking loop around the legislative building to ground myself. This year my main tune was a new single that came out called Desire.

This goal had grown in importance after my race time from 2022 didn’t make the Boston cut-off and I just found out earlier in the week. Now in the 40–44 AG, I knew a time under 3:04 was essential for a shot at Boston even though the cut-off for a qualifying time was 3:10 for my age group.

Race Start

The race kicked off by downing of a Coffee Gu Roctane Gel, a ritual I seem to have picked up this year. Early discomfort at the 2KM mark was overshadowed by the looming goal, but by 6KM, an average overall pace of 4:03/km was established. However, a familiar tension between foot and calf hinted at impending shin splits, a recurring issue from previous races. Luckily this faded and didn’t turn into anything more serious as the race went on.

2023 RVM Start Line
Course map pulled from Strava

Mid-Race Strategy

I stuck to my plan, taking a GU Roctane every 5KM, alternating between caffeinated and uncaffeinated. The split from the half marathoners into South Oak Bay marked a turning point; my cheesy joking comment to fellow runners, “well I guess the warm-up is over,” was the only break in my silence and energy conservation.

Rounding the gold course and Oak Bay Beach hotel to make 1:26:40 at the halfway marker, and the challenge was evident. My quads started voicing their protest on downhills. An adjusted stride and another gel brought temporary relief. Mentally, a shift occurred; it wasn’t 26.2 miles but another half marathon ahead — a necessary compartmentalization to tame the intimidating distance.

The Final Stretch

Quad pain continued to escalate from the 30KM on, with every aid station a respite and a marker of progression towards the finish. At this point I had to turn off my brain and start in on some personal mantras to keep me going. I could so easily stop and walk at this point. Quick calculations at the 36KM marker on Dallas Road indicated the sub-3-hour goal was still within reach.

Another runner’s timely push in the last couple of KM’s provided the final surge of adrenaline needed. As I rounded the last corner I glimpsed the clock at 2:59:18, the finish line near I started in on the best sprint I had left in me.

I crossed the line for a chip time of 2:59:21 coming in 6th in my Age Group and 50th Overall. Average page 4:14/km.

Breaking the 3-hour mark was not just a physical breakthrough but an emotional release. On the other side, my extended family witnessed this pivotal moment, I did it!

Reflection

My watch setup proved effective, displaying overall workout pace, current pace, total time, and km distance. I executed my nutrition strategy, consuming 6 GU Roctane gels, one Maurten, and a Coffee Gu Roctane at the start. Next time, I’ll need a better pen to write my pacing strategy on my arm to avoid smudging.

Breaking the 3-hour barrier feels like an incredible accomplishment, I’m happy I took the opportunity to do this while I still can as my fitness is still at a high point. Who knows where things go from here but I am happy to check that goal off the bucket list.

Closing in on the finish line with seconds to go.

About Dan: I’m an entrepreneur with experience in various industries, including fintech, real estate, and performance marketing. Most recently, Co-Founder and COO at Billi Labs (exit), and VP Operations at Pretio Interactive (exit).

I am passionate about endurance sport and exploring the intersection between technology, health, and performance.

Connect with me on Website, Strava, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

--

--

Daniel

Fintech Entrepreneur, Plant-Powered Endurance Athlete. Exploring New Paths. 🇨🇦 🇬🇧