How I Reached 100 Followers on Medium

Daniela Matinho
4 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

Photo by Free Walking Tour Salzburg on Unsplash

Today, I would like to share how I reached 100 followers on Medium. Although this is no longer a requirement to monetize your profile, I was very excited when I finally reached this milestone.

Before I dive into my tricks and the lessons I learned, here are some questions I have been often asked about:

  • How long did it take you to reach 100 followers? It took me about a year.
  • How often did you post? I began by posting about once a month. Over the summer, I took a break of four months to focus on job hunting. During the fall, I resumed posting, this time twice a month.
Photo by Melanie Deziel on Unsplash
  • How long were your articles? Usually 500 words or more.
  • Why should I consider Medium? Personally I’m fond of the clean look. It’s also easy to get started for anyone with little or no experience.

There aren’t many formatting requirements. I also find the community very healthy, as everyone respects and learns from each other.

For more content about Career & Books, follow me on Medium at @danielamatinho. Don’t forget to comment, like, and share.

4 THINGS I WOULD DO IF I WAS TO START A MEDIUM CHANNEL TODAY

Pick a Topic You Like

I started creating content online in 2016. For several years, I mainly blogged about traveling. However, I didn’t enjoy planning trips ahead and doing detailed write-ups(I am more of a go-with-the-flow traveler). Hence, my blog never took off.

Last year, I decided to shift gears and started writing about books. I have always enjoyed reading but I doubted whether anyone cared. To my surprise, one of my early articles on books became my most commented, engaged, and liked post to date. It even garnered me 30+ followers within a few days.

TIP: Think about something you like and could talk and / or write about for hours.

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Be Consistent

I am perhaps the last person that ought to advise on this given how inconsistent my schedule was in 2023 but, posting consistently really does help. Once you build an audience, people expect to see your articles consistently.

It’s such an incredible feeling when you notice a familiar person regularly commenting and engaging with you.

Cadence: People say you have to publish on Medium every day in the beginning. I suggest sticking to a schedule you know that you can maintain in the long run.

Photo by Louis Hansel on Unsplash

Externalize Parts of It

You would be surprised how externalizing a few steps of a process can help you move much faster. ChatGPT and Fiverr changed my way of creating content in 2023!

Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash
  • FIVERR: As English is not my first language, for years I have relied on friends or endless reviews of the articles before publishing them. Fiverr is a platform with SO many qualified people who can help you, the best part is that most services are affordable. Marcus (linking his profile) has helped with every article since I started using Fiverr. I 100% recommend him if you aren’t a native English speaker — the link isn’t sponsored, he’s genuinely talented.
Photo by Greg Bulla on Unsplash

Use Other Social Media Platforms

Your performance on Medium is quite independent of external traffic. Medium values members’ views more than anything else. However, I have found it beneficial to share my articles on LinkedIn. It not only helps me to engage with more people but also to re-use and diversify the communities I reach.

That’s all for today!

My Best Advice: Start today and you will figure out the rest.

For more content about Career & Books, follow me on Medium at @danielamatinho. Don’t forget to comment, like, and share.

Daniela

--

--

Daniela Matinho

I write about books and my journey in Tech & Analytics in the US! ✨ Data Storyteller | Meta Alum | MS Analytics from UChicago