The Caramel Damsel I

Daniel Ayotunde OMONITAN
2 min readJan 2, 2024

--

The Alluring Phone CallPrologue

My eyes were bloodshot red, covered with diverse shades of past hurts.

My sword was long drawn out and I wanted to cut down anything that moved.

My head ached as I pondered if I could have been mistaken this once.

The voice of my father resounded in my heart as I wondered if to slay, flay or salvage this day.

And unless he had instructed otherwise, I would have slain her… I could have killed a major part of me by sheer mistaken identity.

The caramel damsel rang my phone.

Once, twice, and as many times as she wished.

Blare blare sounded my ringtone.

And I wonder what now since my line had been reached.

I took a sigh, not knowing what to expect.

I shrouded in, trying to guide all that I express.

I wondered if our previous chit chat has affected the expected respect.

If not, we should probably opt in for a reset.

For whatnot, I would prefer more context.

Hoping that my thoughts can be guided in pretext.

Instead of calls, I prefer chats or texts

But calling me was to her, a test.

She dropped the call as soon as I heard her voice.

I wondered if she only wanted to register her voice.

Well now, my sleep has been terminated but she instantly dropped the call.

I wondered why? But now, it’s too late cos I can’t bring myself to reckon.

Once, twice, she beckoned.

But I indulged her as long as she wants.

Now, my sleep suffers repose.

My rest was the sacrificial lamb to keep her in turn.

Thou caramel of a damsel, you stole my sleep.

And now, I have become a victim of thine felony

At the mercy of thine ring, my rest flew,

Running miles away, very far from me.

Read other parts of the series:

The Caramel Damsel (The Sequel)

#faction #poem #series #caramel #damsel

--

--