Design Report — January 2019

Daniel Korpai
5 min readFeb 11, 2019

--

This article is a collection of my work created in January 2019 combined with my favorite design inspirations.

I started these monthly design reports back in August 2017 to challenge my UI/UX design skills and grow as a designer. The main purpose of these side projects is to try out new techniques, plugins, prototyping tools and solve design challenges I’m interested in.

InVision Studio — Breathe app Studio Jam

https://dribbble.com/shots/5839267-InVision-Studio-Breathe-app-Studio-Jam

In January, I created a new InVision Studio Jam showcasing the behind the scenes process of my Breathe app for iOS Concept.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mp6-NJBo0ds&feature=youtu.be

You can read more about this concept here:

Started experimenting with 3D

I’ve been interested in 3D for months now, but somehow the complexity of apps like After Effects or Cinema 4D just made me constantly procrastinate around this topic.

So when I first heard about the Design Camera app (new name: Rotato) created by Morten Just, I immediately started playing around with it.

I can’t wait to use more 3D mockups in the future and incorporate 3D more in my workflow.

InVision Studio — Parallax Card

https://dribbble.com/shots/5879717-InVision-Studio-Parallax-Card

Although animating path points is not yet available in Studio, with some out of the box thinking you can already create your own 3D Parallax card effect with using simple shapes and some optical illusion magic.

You can check out the behind the scenes video here:

In case you want to dive deeper and push the limits, you can download the source file here or play with the interactive prototype.

Inside Design — Is animation the key to great product design?

https://www.invisionapp.com/inside-design/is-animation-the-key-to-great-product-design/

My first ever Inside Design article went live in January as well. 🎉

I remember the days when I started designing and I read the design articles on the InVision Blog (now Inside Design) for hours every day to learn as much as possible.

So publishing my first article here meant a whole lot more to me than just writing another one of design articles. It was an incredible feeling of being on the other side of the article and share my design and animation tips with designers all around the world.

Also, I wanted to say special thanks to Shayna Hodkin and Alisa Calvillo for their incredible help in writing this article and making everything look professional and awesome in the article.

You can read the article here:

Being featured in the Best UX Case Study Collection in 2018 by Case Study Club

https://www.casestudy.club/bestof

My Reading Experience Filters Concept was selected and featured in the Best UX Case Study Collection in 2018 on the Case Study Club.

It’s such an amazing feeling of seeing my articles be useful for others, probably it’s one of the best motivations to keep working on these side projects and sharing my experiences in case studies about them.

https://www.casestudy.club/bestof

Passed the 10k milestone on Instagram

https://www.instagram.com/danielkorpai/

Almost exactly a year after I started sharing my product photography related posts on Instagram, I reached the 10,000 followers milestone, which was a special milestone to me.

My goal with Instagram was always hitting this magic 10k follower number just because now I can finally share links in Stories with the community, so they can just swipe up and open that link instead of manually typing in or messaging me about every single website and inspiration URL I share there.

Thank you so much for everyone who is following my daily journey on Instagram, especially for those who are following me since the early days!

I can’t wait to start giving back to this amazing community for all the support and motivation.

See you in a month 👋

I hope you learned something from this article and got pumped up with new design inspirations.

In case you have any questions or just want to talk about design, feel free to reach out on Twitter, Instagram or send me an email. Currently, I reply to all my emails within 1–2 working days.

Thanks for the 50 clap 👏 if you enjoyed this article! Every clap, share, tweet and response is a huge motivation for me to keep writing and share more behind the scenes insights with you!

I also redesigned my monthly newsletter from scratch, so I recommend you to check it out as well. 👇

--

--