Read this review for free at Metal Cutie!

Hello, I’m back! Today we will be reviewing Trivium’s album “Vengeance Falls” released October 15, 2013 by Roadrunner Records. This album features their singles “Brave the Storm”, “Strife”, “Through Blood and Dirt and Bone”, and also “Villainy Thrives”. This felt like a really emotional album, the lyrics felt very personal.

The album starts off with the really gnarly riffs of the track “Brave This Storm” that catch your attention and make you feel pumped to listen. Following is the title track “Vengeance Falls” which has really catchy opening riffs that hook the listener. This song has some intense shredding toward the end with pounding drums switching up the rhythms.

The song “Strife” is a pretty emotional song to me lyrically. The words are deep and filled with a ton of emotion:

Guilt buries me alive
In a coffin criticized
I shouldered the blame and dug this hole for me to lay in

I reach for calm
I starve for a balance unknown
This burden tortures me deep in my soul

I’ve found that strife won’t make the bleeding stop
Nor will it take away the pain
I feel like this search is all in vain
And I struggle to find my way

--

--